Master Preceptor Recognition Program 2019 recipients

The AACP Master Preceptor Recognition Program has recognized three individuals as master preceptors for their dedication and commitment to excellence in experiential education and professional practice. This sixth cohort will receive a recognition plaque, complimentary AACP membership, and national recognition from AACP and other pharmacy associations.

The purpose of the AACP Master Preceptor Recognition Program is to highlight preceptors, who are not full-time employees of a school/college of pharmacy, for their sustained commitment to excellence in experiential education and professional practice.

Brett Heintz, Pharm.D.

The University of Iowa College of Pharmacy

Dr. Brett Heintz received his bachelor of science in cell and molecular biology at San Diego State University in 2001 and his doctorate in pharmacy from the University of California, San Francisco in 2005. He completed his residencies in pharmacy practice and infectious diseases at the University of California, Davis Medical Center in Sacramento, CA. He also is a board certified pharmacotherapy specialist with added qualifications in infectious diseases and American Academy of HIV expert certified.

Dr. Heintz, a Pharmacy Specialist in Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases, joined the Iowa City VA Health Care System in September 2012. He also holds an academic position as Clinical Associate Professor at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy and precepts pharmacy students, delivers didactic lectures and coordinates a pharmacotherapy course. Prior to joining the Iowa City VA and the University of Iowa he served as an Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy at UC San Francisco School of Pharmacy with a clinical practice in Infectious Diseases and Internal Medicine at UC Davis Medical Center.

Dr. Heintz’s primary research and clinical interests include antimicrobial dosing in special populations, including renal failure, dialysis, hepatic failure and obesity and management of outpatient delivery of antimicrobial therapy.

Dr. Heintz has authored several articles and book chapters related to antimicrobial therapy and has presented at local, state, national, and international level meetings. He is also the recipient of several teaching awards.

Tracy Anderson-Haag, Pharm.D.

University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy

Tracy Anderson-Haag, Pharm.D., BCPS is a Clinical Pharmacy Specialist in transplantation at Hennepin Healthcare (HHC) and a Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy. She is also Residency Program Director for the PGY-2 Solid Organ Transplant Residency Program at HHC. She earned her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy and subsequently completed a two-year Nephrology/Transplantation Specialty Residency Program at Hennepin County Medical Center. Dr. Anderson-Haag’s clinical practice encompasses patients in all phases of kidney transplantation and living donation across both the ambulatory and acute care setting. Over the last seventeen years, Tracy has precepted numerous pharmacy students, PGY-1 and PGY-2 residents emphasizing pharmacy’s role in fully integrated, comprehensive medication therapy management.

In addition to her clinical responsibilities, Tracy serves on the Medical Advisory Board for the National Kidney Foundation of Minnesota, and the Medical Board for Camp Superkids through the American Lung Association of Minnesota. Her ongoing efforts and example in servant leadership for over 2 decades with Camp Superkids earned her the Outstanding Volunteer of the Year Award from the Professional Fraternity Association in 2018. Dr. Anderson-Haag is a full-doctoral member of the American Society of Transplantation (AST), along with ASHP and ACCP.

Michelle McCarthy, Pharm.D.

Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy

Dr. Michelle McCarthy is the Pharmacy Education and Graduate Programs Coordinator and the residency program director for the PGY1-Pharmacy residency program at the University of Virginia (UVa) Health System. Additionally, she serves as the residency coordinator for UVa’s 12 other pharmacy residency programs and is the Director of the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy/ UVA Division.

Dr. McCarthy earned her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from Mercer University and completed an ASHP-accredited Drug Information Practice Residency at the University of Pittsburgh. Prior to joining UVa, she was a faculty member at Samford University School of Pharmacy in Birmingham, AL. Awards include 1997 Samford University School of Pharmacy Teacher of the Year, 2003 Virginia Society of Health-System Pharmacists (VSHP) Pharmacist of the Year, 2008 Louis P. Jeffrey Preceptor of the Year, 2015 recipient of the Distinguished Drug Information Practitioner Award by the American College of Clinical Pharmacy DI PRN, 2015 ASHP Foundation Residency Expansion Grant, the 2017 ASHP Foundation Residency Excellence Program Award, and the 2018 VCU School of Pharmacy Office of Experiential Education Outstanding Service Award. She served on the ASHP Commission on Credentialing from 2008-2013 including serving as the Chair in 2012 and has been involved in numerous residency accreditation surveys as both the practitioner and lead surveyor.

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a copyright violation, please follow the DMCA section in the Terms of Use.