Loading

7th Grade Peek of the Week-End of 9 Weeks is this Friday! September 30-October 4, 2019

So many fun things this week! Homecoming week dress up days, Savannah field trip on Wednesday, pep rally on Thursday, & PBIS flag football on Friday!

Please send in EMPTY 2L bottles, 32 oz. mayonnaise jars with lids, glass pickle jars with lids, etc. This activity will end our unit on Ecology. We need jars by 10/16/19!

Please send in jars for our upcoming science project!

Important Information

Planning on joining us? Please complete this form: https://forms.gle/pkHZhvKLsgcBr2vJ7

Please make sure your child has up to date vaccinations and a copy has been provided to the school... this is required for all 7th graders!

PBIS Parent Portal letters went home on 8/23/2019. Be sure to check with your child to get access to their portal.
We have new shirts in the Tribe Shop! Stop by at the school to pick one up. They are $15 and will soon be placed on My Payment Plus for your convenience.

Look at everything we have been up to!

What's Happening This Week:

ELA: We are continuing the read our unit novel "While The World Watched", with a focus on informational text. This week we will compare and contrast literature written by different authors on the same topic. Performance task for Unit 2 will start this week. Students will be creating their own connection courses. I am very excited to see the ideas they come up with.

READ180: Students will deepen their understanding of a concept by finding related synonyms, word families, common phrases, examples, and non-examples. Students will attend our first field trips to Savannah. Students will be taking the Scholastic Reading Inventory at the end of the week. This assessment allows students the opportunity to show their mastery of reading comprehension.

Students will take the SRI on Thursday 10/3/2019 and Friday 10/4/2019 (if needed)

Math: 7th grade math students will continue learning about expressions and equations this week, by recalling and practicing the distributive property. Students will participate in small group activities as well as taking notes. On Wednesday, we will be having out 7th grade filed trip, YAY! Thursday, students will take their last set of notes before a QUIZ on Friday! That's right, a quiz will be on Friday, October 4th. Also, we will begin checking interactive notebooks to ensure our scholars are making the most out of their learning.

Science: Life Science scholars are still working at becoming elite ecologists! We will begin to discuss the difference between Food Webs and Food Chains and engage in a variety of activities that emphasize the importance of ecological relationships between all biotic (living) and abiotic (non-living) factors in Food Webs. This week we will cover the energy pyramid diagram. We will continue to complete INB (interactive notebook) activities and we are checking to make sure all students are staying up to date with their INB. Life Science classes will have a Summative Exam on Tuesday.

Social Studies: We are finishing up our Middle East history unit; Monday, we will review the study guide, Tuesday, we will play some test prep review games, and Thursday is our test! Students will also have some time this week to finish up their choice board activity of either the FunkoPop figures or their BrainPop video.

What Is For Lunch?

Have a question or concern? Contact Us!

Teachers pictured from left to right:

Anna Waddell-Social Studies-awaddell@bryan.k12.ga.us

Drew Fulton-Math-dfulton@bryan.k12.ga.us

Lindsey Lothridge-Math-llothridge@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anna Lewis-Social Studies-alewis@bryan.k12.ga.us

John Allmond-ESS Math-jallmond@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bethany Gordon-ELA-bgordon@bryan.k12.ga.us

Melissa Tedder-Science-mtedder@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bobi Hester-ESS Read 180-bhester@bryan.k12.ga.us

Brandi Miller-Read 180-brandi.miller@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anne Marie Aldred-Science-aaldred@bryan.k12.ga.us

Our admin team!!

Liz Raeburn-Principal-eraeburn@bryan.k12.ga.us

Blaine Ennis-Assistant Principal-Athletic Director-bennis@bryan.k12.ga.us

Abram Scott-Assistant Principal-ascott@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bryan County Middle School

600 Payne Avenue

Pembroke, GA 31321

912-626-5050

Twitter: @bryancountyms