Meiosis is the division of the sex cells, which are the sperm and the egg.

Meiosis 1: Prophase 1, Metaphase 1, Anaphase 1, Telophase 1, and Cytokinesis.

Animal Cell

Meiosis 2: Prophase 2, Metaphase 2, Anaphase 2, Telophase 2, and Cytokinesis.

Animal Cell

Meiosis 1 starts with one cell (one diploid nucleus) and forms two new cells (two haploid nuclei).

Meiosis 2 starts with the two cells (two haploid nuclei) formed during Meiosis one and forms four new cells (two for each cell).

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.