Ocean Zones Michael holtzman

The three ocean zones: Intertidal Zone,Neretic Zone, and the open Ocean Zone.
The foreshore and seashore and sometimes referred to as the littoral zone is the area that is above water at low tide and under water at high tide.
Intertidal Zone
Intertidal Zone
The relatively shallow part of the ocean above the drop off of the continental shelf approximately 200 meters in depth.
The neritic zone is the relatively shallow part of the ocean above the drop-off of the continental shelf, approximately 200 meters in depth.
The area of the open ocean where sunlight shines through the water is called the photic zone.

OCEAN ORGANISMS-The three different Ocean Organisims: Benthos, Nekton & Plankton Benthos

the flora and fauna found on the bottom, or in the bottom sediments, of a sea, lake, or other body of water.
aquatic animals that are able to swim and move independently of water currents.
are the diverse collection of organisms that live in the water column of large bodies of water and are unable to swim against a current. They provide a crucial source of food to many large aquatic organisms, such as fish and whales.
UPWELLING-a rising of seawater, magma, or other liquids.
Upwelling Photos
Why is upwelling important? It is important because the water rises and when it rises it brings in ecosystem life.


Created with images by Photographing Travis - "Ocean" • U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service - Northeast Region - "South Andros Island: Piping Plover foraging in rocky intertidal zone" • papertygre - "Intertidal zone" • fstoep - "back light watts low tide" • Bluesnap - "high seas open sea offshore zone" • sarangib - "sea urchin marine organism" • USFWS Pacific Southwest Region - "Seabird Nesting"

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.