Loading

Reading Newsletter Eagle PrimarY school - JuLY 2020

Welcome to the Eagle Primary Reading Newsletter for July - 'Isolation Edition IV'.

So, here we are... the final month of the school year. It is July, the summer fair has been cancelled, Sports' Day didn't happen this year and End-of-Year Reports are written and ready to go out. 2020 has been the most unusual of years hasn't it!? As ever though, the holidays are almost here and that does offer the chance to do some reading in the sun (hopefully!).

I have to confess that my reading has slowed down recently, but that doesn't mean I haven't lined up the next few books and my list of 25 read during lockdown, I consider to be pretty good!

I was thinking of how to theme this month's books and decided that as I have been putting together a list of books that feature BAME lead characters, I would choose some books from that list - diversity is important and we need to use books to see our world and to see the world through the eyes of others.

Thank you for reading.

Mr Watson

EYFS Book of the Month

Sulwe - Lupita Nyong'o

The New York Times Number 1 Bestseller.

From Academy Award-winning actress Lupita Nyong'o comes a powerful, moving picture book about colourism, self-esteem and learning that true beauty comes from within.

Sulwe's skin is the colour of midnight. She's darker than everyone in her family, and everyone at school.

All she wants is to be beautiful and bright, like her mother and sister.

Then a magical journey through the night sky opens her eyes and changes everything.

In this stunning debut picture book, Lupita Nyong'o creates a whimsical and heartwarming story to inspire children to see their own unique beauty.

MR WATSON SAYS: This really is a beautiful story with gorgeous illustrations. I am always a little apprehensive of books written by celebrities - but this one is perfect for any and all children. It has a powerful story that is so important at ALL times, but perhaps even more so now. Definitely a book recommended for all children to remind them just how beautiful they all are!

KS1 Book of the Month

Bloom (Hope in a Scary World) - Anne Booth

Featured in The Guardian as one of the best picture books, and in The Sunday Times as children's book of the week.

There was once a beautiful flower and a little girl who loved it. She talked to it every morning on her way to school. The owner of the flower shouted at her.

The next day, the flower did not open. The angry man didn’t understand. He tried watering it. He tried giving it shade and he tried talking to it. He told it how wonderful he was, how important his job was and how lonely he felt. But it still refused to open.

So, he asked the little girl. “Why don’t you tell it how wonderful it is and how much you love it?” she said. As he did so, his own heart filled with love. And the flower bloomed.

MR WATSON SAYS: I was fortunate to read this story just before it was published last month. I really is a delight - It reminded me in many ways of The Selfish Giant. The delicate images and a powerful story of love, care and selflessness combine to give a story that you will share and read over and over again - I did!

UKS2 Book of the Month

Mohinder's War - Bali Rai

A thrilling World War II adventure set in occupied France, featuring an Indian RAF pilot.Great for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne, and those who want diverse historical fiction.

Thirteen-year-old Joelle Breton stumbles across Indian-born RAF pilot Mohinder Singh when his plane crashes in occupied France and it's up to her and her parents to hide him from the Nazis. After all, her parents are brave members of the French Resistance and will do everything they can to help get Mohinder back to Britain.But when they are betrayed and tragedy strikes, Joelle and Mohinder will have to act fast if they are ever to evade the enemy.

Flashbacks offer dramatic stories set in key moments of history, perfect for introducing children to historical topics.

MR WATSON SAYS: Bloomsbury sent me a copy of this book to review as it was published. I had read one book by Bali Rai before so had an idea of what to expect. Mohinder (Mo) is a Sikh RAF pilot and this story uses flashbacks and story within a story to tell of his crash and evasion of the Nazis in WWII France. Smart and intelligent, without any wasted words, we learn about the War and Mo's culture and faith as the story twists and turns its adventure.

Author of the Month

Maria Isabel Sanchez Vegara

4 Books by Maria Isabel Sanchez Vegara

¡Hola! My name is Maria Isabel Sánchez Vegara and I'm a writer and creative director from Barcelona. When I was a little girl, I used to read books under the covers with a flashlight once my mom had turned the light off. I always wanted to be a writer... but when I grew up, I ended up in advertising. It was a lot of fun though; I loved working with directors, photographers, designers, and I also wrote scripts, documentaries and texts for all kind of things.

Then, I decided to self-publish a book that had been in my mind for a long time. One day, one thousand copies of the book arrived at my home - I had no idea what I was going to do with them! I opened a little online shop, offered them to some pretty stores in my neighborhood and, one by one, I sold them all. Soon, publishing houses started to approach me to write books, but I was working on another idea of my own: a series about little people with BIG dreams.

MR WATSON SAYS: The Little People:BIG DREAMS collection keeps growing and growing and each of them is a mini wonder in itself. So many famous people both from history, culture, music, sport, science, film, government and much more who have done something powerful to influence the world or their generation to make a change and improve something. You can't fail to enjoy reading any of them and there are over 40 books in the collection now!

Your Recommendations...

What book adventures have you been on?
...and now through Social Media you can... and I do!

Of course this Newsletter shouldn't be just about my choices.

I would love to hear recommendations from you too.

If you have read and enjoyed a book and think that someone else might enjoy it too, then share the name of the book and author with me, along with a brief summary of the plot and why you think someone else would enjoy the book.

Share the love of books.

You can E-mail your ideas, recommendations and reviews to: mike.watson@eagle.lincs.sch.uk

Remember as always, reading is a beautifully subjective thing... if you don't like a book, think about why before giving up.

Might it be worth another chapter?

Do you understand what is happening?

Use these thoughts to shape your future choices.

Mr Watson

Created By
Mike Watson
Appreciate

Credits:

Created with images by Jonas Jacobsson - "untitled image" Book synopsis and author biography from Amazon.co.uk Other links - credited.