Loading

7th Grade Peek of the Week October 28-November 1, 2019

School Events Coming Up

Our school will be collecting canned food and non-perishable items until November 1st to help support our local community! The class with the most non-perishable items will receive donuts for breakfast!

Upcoming Field Trip Information-Forms due this Wednesday for the Friday field trip!

News and Other Notes

Planning on joining us? Please complete this form: https://forms.gle/pkHZhvKLsgcBr2vJ7
$40.00! You can use My Payments Plus to pay! Go to Parent Information/My Payments Plus on our web page.
You can get #BeBCMS newsletter in a variety of ways. It is posted to our facebook page every Sunday. It is sent out via Thrillshare based on the number you have stored as primary in Powerschool, and it is also linked on our web page. Please check your Powerschool primary phone information to make sure you can get texts from Thrillshare.

Look at everything we have been up to!

What's Happening This Week:

ELA: We are currently in our 3rd unit "Taking A Stand". Students are working on researching human rights issues and will be creating Essays and giving presentations on why these issues matter and what can be done to help. To master our reading standards we will be reading speech's delivered to the United Nations and understanding how authors distinguish their opinions from others.

READ180: Students will be planning, organizing, and drafting their response to the Focus Question from Workshop 4: How does a country respond to the death of a leader? Students will describe two people that reacted strongly to Abraham Lincoln's assassination by utilizing the TIDE and TREE writing strategies provide evidence of their thesis. Students will draft and rate themselves on the provided rubric, in order to reflect on their writing. Students will receive a Summative grade from this assessment. Feedback will be provided by November 9th.

Math: This week, students will review everything they have learned in Unit 2 as we prepare for the Unit 2 test. Monday and Tuesday students will work on the study guide and asking any questions before taking the test. Wednesday and Thursday, students will take the Unit 2 test. This test will cover the following: simplifying expressions, solving equations, and solving inequalities.

Science: This week, we will begin to discover what are cells. Students are working to become Cell Biologist, so they will need to be prepared for a cell project coming soon. We will start out the week by identify what makes up cells, explain the importance of cells and comparing the difference between a prokaryotic cell and eukaryotic cell. Then on Wednesday and Thursday, students will create a vocabulary picture book of a variety of very important organelles. We will wrap up the week with a fun game of Organelle Bingo. All PowerPoints are posted on Google Classroom.

Social Studies: Middle East Economics: we are finishing up this unit this week with focus on specialization, the four factors that affect GDP, and currency exchange. How can natural resources effect GDP? What is the difference between capital goods and human capital? Students will complete their study guide on Wednesday and Thursday because their test is next Tuesday. We will also spend some time going over their formative writing assignment from Friday so we can give feedback and provide exemplars of student work for them to reflect upon.

What Is For Lunch?

Have a question or concern? Contact Us!

Teachers pictured from left to right:

Anna Waddell-Social Studies-awaddell@bryan.k12.ga.us

Drew Fulton-Math-dfulton@bryan.k12.ga.us

Lindsey Lothridge-Math-llothridge@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anna Lewis-Social Studies-alewis@bryan.k12.ga.us

John Allmond-ESS Math-jallmond@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bethany Gordon-ELA-bgordon@bryan.k12.ga.us

Melissa Tedder-Science-mtedder@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bobi Hester-ESS Read 180-bhester@bryan.k12.ga.us

Brandi Miller-Read 180-brandi.miller@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anne Marie Aldred-Science-aaldred@bryan.k12.ga.us

Our admin team!!

Liz Raeburn-Principal-eraeburn@bryan.k12.ga.us

Blaine Ennis-Assistant Principal-Athletic Director-bennis@bryan.k12.ga.us

Abram Scott-Assistant Principal-ascott@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bryan County Middle School

600 Payne Avenue

Pembroke, GA 31321

912-626-5050

Twitter: @bryancountyms