This is UVA Rowing 2010 & 2012 NCAA Champions

On the Water with the UVA Rowing Team

19-time ACC Champions

2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 20052006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

The Cavaliers have won 19 of the 20 ACC championship regattas and 77 of 85 ACC championship races.

The Cavaliers captured their 10th straight ACC title in 2019


The Cavaliers have captured two NCAA titles (2010 and 2012), nine NCAA individual championships and 19 of 20 ACC championships under Sauer's direction.

Sauer was named National Coach of the Year in 2010 and 2012, and is a 12-time ACC Coach of Year recipient.

In June of 2017, Sauer was inducted into the Pocock/Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

2015 NCAA Champion Varsity Four

NCAA Individual Championships

The Cavaliers have claimed nine NCAA Individual Championships since 1998.

2010 Varsity Four NCAA Champions

Virginia has captured five NCAA Individual titles in the Varsity Four (2004, 2005, 2007, 2010 and 2015).

2007 NCAA Varsity Four Champions
2005 NCAA Champion Second Varsity Eight

The Hoos have earned three NCAA Individual championships in the Second Varsity Eight (1998, 1998 and 2005).

1998 NCAA Champion Second Varsity Eight

UVA captured the Varsity Eight NCAA championship in 2012.

2012 NCAA Champion Varsity Eight

International Competition

Lindsay Shoop ('04) won a gold medal at the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing.
Lindsay Shoop ('04) with her gold medal at Scott Stadium.
Inge Janssen ('10) helped the Netherlands to a silver medal in the W4x at Rio 2016.
Melanie Kok ('07) won bronze in the LW2x at the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing.
Sophia Kershner ('21) and Izzi Weiss ('19) helped the United States to a bronze medal in the W8+ at the 2019 U-23 World Championships.
Kristine O'Brien ('13) won gold in the W8+ at the 2018 World Rowing Championships.
Izzi Weiss ('19) coxed the United States to a gold medal in the W4+ at the 2018 U-23 World Championships.
Morgan Rosts ('18) earned gold for Canada in the W8+ at the 2017 U-23 World Championships.



Academic Achievement

The Cavaliers have earned 68 National Scholar-Athlete honors since 2000.

In 2019-20, Virginia landed a program-high 52 student-athletes on the ACC Honor Roll.

Seven UVA rowers have earned ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors: Kelsie Chaudoin (2008), Jennifer Cromwell (2010), Sarah Borchelt (2011 & 2012), Sarah Cowburn (2013), Tessa Dikkers (2016), Georgia Ratcliff (2017) and Heidi Long (2019).

Two-Time NCAA Champions

2010 NCAA Champions