Day 2 Recap Women's Swimming & Diving

Columbus, Ga. – SCAD Savannah (Ga.) record 638.5 points to capture their second straight NAIA National Championship and their third championship in the last four years, Saturday night at the NAIA Swimming & Diving Championships taking place at the Columbus Aquatic Center.

Day 3 Highlights

• Lydia Reinhardt tallied the Bees lone win on the night as she touched the wall in 2:04.23 to win the 200 fly. SCAD also recorded a trio of runner-up finishes led by April O’Gorman who placed second in the 1650 free (17:33.38). Allie Rassenfoss and Spencer Sheridan notched runner-up finishes in the 200 back and 100 free, respectfully.

• This marks the fifth time that SCAD has won the NAIA Swimming & Diving Championship and the first time they won back-to-back titles since 2009-2010.

• Keiser (Fla.) recorded 477.5 points to post their first runner-up finish in program history. The team of Emma Sofie Augustsson, Ori Freibach, Stafania Sofouli, and Kamryn Gallowich won the 400 free relay with a time of 3:29.28. The Seahawks’ Anna Herbst earned national runner-up honors in the 200 fly with a time of 2:07.34. Head Coach Adam Epstein was named the NAIA Coach of the Year.

• Cumberlands (Ky.) finished third in the team standings with 392.5 points. The Patriots had a pair of national champions, led by Mendy De Rooi who posted her third individual national title, this time in the 100 free with a time of 51.45. De Rooi also garnered a pair of national awards as she was named the NAIA Swimmer of the Year and earned the NAIA Swim of the Meet for her 100 fly. Christina Klouda captured UC’s final top-finish as she touched the wall in 2:02.85 to win the 200 back.

• Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) placed fourth place with 306.5 points. The Tigers’ day was highlighted by a pair of national titles. Karla Islas got the session started by winning the 1650 free (17:18.54), while Andrea Vega took top honors in the 200 breast (2:17.43) for her third individual title of the meet.

• College of Idaho recorded 242 points to round out the top five teams in the standings.

• Andrea Adam was named the NAIA Diver of the Year after winning both the one-meter and three-meter dive events.

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a copyright violation, please follow the DMCA section in the Terms of Use.