Liberty-Eylau Community Breakfast March 2, 2017

Liberty-Eylau ISD honored several community members at the annual Liberty-Eylau Community Breakfast, Thursday March 2 at the Middle School. The breakfast is held each year in conjunction with Texas Public Schools Week.

The H. E. Markham Community Service Award honors members of the Liberty-Eylau Community who have shown years of dedication to LE.

Becky Fellers

Becky Fellers is a lifetime resident who committed her career to teaching the students of Liberty-Eylau. She and her husband, Rodney, graduated from L-E, as did their daughter and L-E teacher Kristen Cox.

Ronnie Thompson LE Superintendent, Becky Fellers, Pam Hall -2016 H. E. Markham Winner

In her youth, Becky was a member of 4-H which led to her involvement in the program years later. She has served as a 4-H leader for over 25 years and even earned the prestigious Gold Star award. During her 27 years as a Liberty-Eylau Elementary teacher she was a lead teacher and was awarded Teacher of the Year. She has also been a lifetime member of Eylau Christian Church where she serves on various committees.

Hilda Smith

The second H. E. Markham honoree is Hilda Smith. She has been a resident of Liberty-Eylau most of her life and she and her husband both graduated from L-E, as did their daughter.

Ronnie Thompson LE Superintendent, Hilda Smith, Pam Hall -2016 H. E. Markham Winner

For years she was an active member of L-E PTA and a room mother, always willing to help out wherever needed.

She became a volunteer reading mentor and served as a substitute teacher.

She and her husband were actively involved in the L-E Athletic Booster Club for many years. They enjoyed working the concession stands along with encouraging athletes in their sporting endeavors, maintaining good grades and character.

She was instrumental in forming “Prom Moms” in 1993, planning many projects the students could participate in. She helped bring back the Haunted House as well as the popular “Miss Ugly Beauty Pageant” to raise money for the prom. The Junior and Senior Class had abundant funds because of her fundraising skills. A lucky student even won a car during her reign.

She was part of many community projects and was a past member of the Education Foundation and the Community Education Committee.

She is an active member of Eylau United Methodist Church where she also serves on committees and has taught Sunday School.

The C. K. Bender Educational Service Award is presented each year to an individual who has years of distinguished service in support of Liberty-Eylau Schools. The 2017 winner is Jim Bergt.

Ronnie Thompson- LE Superintendent, Jessica Martin, Hank Bergt, Alma Gray -2016 C. K. Bender Winner, Scott Bergt

Mr. Bergt is a former LEISD School Board Member. During his decade of service he performed several functions on the board including board president. He served on bond committees and worked to help get many programs started in the district.

Bergt had three children who all graduated from L-E schools. He always been a supporter of Liberty-Eylau. From the early days attending PTA events, board meetings, working on playgrounds, promoting and supporting bond elections, helping coordinate events for the Fall Festival, and helping the agriculture department with 4-H events, to now being able to watch his grandchildren in school events.

Scott Bergt, Hank Bergt

Mr. Bergt was unable to attend the breakfast due to illness and his children Jessica Martin, Hank Bergt, and Scott Bergt accepted the award on his behalf.

The Leopard for Life award honors an unyielding supporter of Liberty-Eylau. This year’s winner is Pat Crawford. She has been the P. E. teacher at Liberty-Eylau Pre-K for 49 years. In her time she has taught generations of students.

Ronnie Thompson -LEISD Superintendent, Pat Crawford, Christina Walker- 2016 Leopard for Life Winner

Crawford is a lifelong Liberty-Eylau resident. Each day Ms. Crawford is the first face many students see and the last one they see before they head home. Her tenacious spirit and love for live is contagious.

Pat Crawford

In addition to the community awards the LEISD PTA awarded three students who participated in the Reflections Art Contest. Students created art from the theme “My Story Starts Here.”

The first place winner was Meyona Lattin. Second place was Julliana McCauley, and third place was Emoni Anderson.

Julliana McCauley (Left) Emoni Anderson (Right)

Neighbors Emergency Center also presented a check to the Liberty-Eylau Volunteer Department. Neighbors sponsored the LEVFD spaghetti supper and part of the departments fundraising efforts for the week.

Gloria Cossey, Mandy Freeman, Stan Cossey -LEVFD Chief, Leann Maynard -Neighbors Emergency Center

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.