Buddhism "You only lose what you cling to."-Gautama Buddha

The Fan Jing Shan Mountain, also known as the Moon Mountains due to being able to see it's temple on the surrounding clear rocks on a clear night, are known for having the best ecological system it has been designated as a national nature reserve. Mount Fanjing is the highest mountain on the Wuling Range.

The origins of Buddhism start with one man, Siddhartha Gautama, the historical Buddha, who was born in Lumbini (in present-day Nepal) in 624 B.C.E . Siddhartha was a royal prince until the day he took a trip outside the palace and saw a homeless man, a sick man, and a corpse. He didn't quite understand the way things worked outside of the palace lifestyle so he went to the forest to search for enlightenment through meditation.

This is a picture of a Buddhist temple in Nepal, the current version of Buddha's hometown.

Buddhists believe in the teachings of the Buddha. Which are the Four Noble Truths and the Eight-Fold Path. His first Noble Truth is that life is suffering (dukkha). Life as we normally live it is full of the pleasures and pains of the body and mind; pleasures, he said, do not represent lasting happiness. They are inevitably tied in with suffering since we suffer from wanting them, wanting them to continue, and wanting pain to go so pleasure can come. The second Noble Truth is that suffering is caused by craving—for sense pleasures and for things to be as they are not. We refuse to accept life as it is. The third Noble Truth, however, states that suffering has an end, and the fourth offers the means to that end: the Eight-Fold Path and the Middle Way. If one follows this combined path he or she will attain Nirvana, an indescribable state of all-knowing lucid awareness in which there is only peace and joy.

The Eight-Fold Path

The Eight-Fold Path—often pictorially represented by an eight-spoked wheel (the Wheel of Dharma) includes: Right Views (the Four Noble Truths), Right Intention, Right Speech, Right Action, Right Livelihood/Occupation, Right Endeavor, Right Mindfulness (total concentration in activity), and Right Concentration (meditation). The Eight-Fold Path is pervaded by the principle of the Middle Way, which characterizes the Buddha's life. The Middle Way represents a rejection of all extremes of thought, emotion, action, and lifestyle. Rather than either severe mortification of the body or a life of indulgence in sense pleasures the Buddha advocated a moderate or "balanced" wandering life-style and the cultivation of mental and emotional equanimity through meditation and morality.

This art piece is called Five disciples at Sarnath it depicts the first five of Buddha's disciples at Sarnath, a deer park, meditating for enlightenment because this is the first place Buddha taught "The Wheel of Dharma"
Patanjali's Yoga-Sutra, it is the first "self-help" Guide

The Buddhist holy text consists of the Sutras: the words and teachings of the Buddha

Buddhism has promoted education and inspired literature, art, architecture and changes in Indian society since it's beginning. It has rejected ritualism and the dominance of priests and encouraged equality in every society it is introduced to

Created By
James Whittaker

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.