Loading

7th Grade Peek of the Week January 20-24, 2020

#CelebrateMonday 1/20
  • No School-Enjoy Martin Luther King Jr. Day!
#TurnUpTuesday 1/21
  • i-Ready Math Diagnostic Testing
  • Tutoring 3:35-4:30
  • Boys Basketball @ BCMS students only $2.00 & Adults $4.00 Region playoffs
#WinWednesday 1/22
  • Girls basketball at Jenkins
  • Math Quiz over triangles
#ThankfulThursday 1/23
  • i-Ready Math Diagnostic Testing
  • Math Quiz over triangles
#FocusFriday 1/24
  • R180 Formative Assessment -Students will read a short informational text and answer reading comprehension questions that focus on making inferences.

Parents, below you will find information about tryouts for Baseball, Soccer, Track, and Golf. Also check out the information about our new online physical system. If your scholar is planning to try out for Spring Sports, now is a great time to get that physical done.

Content Info For The Week

  • ELA (Gordon):This week we will continue to read “The Giver”. As a class we made a goal to finish the book in four weeks and I’m thrilled to say we are on track to achieve that goal. The majority of our grades this 9 weeks will be coming from USA test prep. Students can access this from home. As always contact me with questions and concerns.
  • Read 180 (Hester & Miller): Students will integrate information from three (3) texts in this workshop to share knowledgeably about the spread, containment, and prevention of contagious diseases. Students will have a short formative assessment on their understanding of making appropriate inferences about a topic on Friday.
  • Math (Allmond, Fulton, Lothridge): This week, students will continue learning about angles. Tuesday students will participate in a discovery lab activity. Wednesday and Thursday students will review important vocabulary, then participate in a gallery walk as well as station activities. By Friday, students will practice and review everything they have learned about angles and will complete a quiz.
  • Science (Aldred & Tedder): Scholars will have a Test on Friday for students to demonstrate their learning of Chromosomes, Mitosis, Meiosis and Cancer Cells. The study guide will be posted on Google Classroom Monday. We will review on Wednesday and Thursday. Next week, we ask that students bring in materials for an Elite activity: Twizzlers, colored mini marshmallows. You can review activity using the following link. Thank you for supporting our scholar’s growth. https://teach.genetics.utah.edu/content/dna/HaveYourDNAandEatItToo.pdf
  • Social Studies (Lewis & Waddell): We are starting our next unit on SE Asia History. Perhaps one of the most important figures in history is Gandhi, who we will spend the week studying. Students will complete a timeline related to Indian history as we watch the film "Gandhi" in class.

Look what we have been up to!

From clubs to basketball to celebrating our awesome staff, we had a great week!
Mrs. Waddell's classes worked our outside learning space to complete their study guides.

March Grade Level Field Trip to Atlanta

2019-2020 7th Grade Trip

Date: Friday, March 27th

Trip #13401

$165-Paid in Full by: March 1st

*Offered via Kelly Tours*

https://kellytours.com/

**Behavior Requirements Apply**

7th Grade Team Contact Info!

Teachers pictured from left to right:

Anna Waddell-Social Studies-awaddell@bryan.k12.ga.us

Drew Fulton-Math-dfulton@bryan.k12.ga.us

Lindsey Lothridge-Math-llothridge@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anna Lewis-Social Studies-alewis@bryan.k12.ga.us

John Allmond-ESS Math-jallmond@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bethany Gordon-ELA-bgordon@bryan.k12.ga.us

Melissa Tedder-Science-mtedder@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bobi Hester-ESS Read 180-bhester@bryan.k12.ga.us

Brandi Miller-Read 180-brandi.miller@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anne Marie Aldred-Science-aaldred@bryan.k12.ga.us

BCMS Administration Team!

Liz Raeburn-Principal-eraeburn@bryan.k12.ga.us

Abram Scott-Assistant Principal-ascott@bryan.k12.ga.us

Blaine Ennis-Assistant Principal/Athletic Director-bennis@bryan.k12.ga.us