Loading

7th Grade Peek of the Week September 23-27, 2019

Savannah Field Trip forms are due by Thursday! For the ATL trip, you will directly pay the Kelly Tours website.

Please send in EMPTY 2L bottles, 32 oz. mayonnaise jars with lids, glass pickle jars with lids, etc. This activity will end our unit on Ecology. We need jars by 10/16/19!

Please send in jars for our upcoming science project!

Important Information

Planning on joining us? Please complete this form: https://forms.gle/pkHZhvKLsgcBr2vJ7
Come out and support the Redskins!

Please make sure your child has up to date vaccinations and a copy has been provided to the school... this is required for all 7th graders!

PBIS Parent Portal letters went home on 8/23/2019. Be sure to check with your child to get access to their portal.
We have new shirts in the Tribe Shop! Stop by at the school to pick one up. They are $15 and will soon be placed on My Payment Plus for your convenience.

Look at everything we have been up to!

What's Happening This Week:

ELA: We are continuing the read our unit novel "While The World Watched", with a focus on informational text. This week we will compare and contrast multiple pieces of text in order to find common reactions and inspiration. Grades continue to upload please look out and contact me with any concerns. 

READ180: Students will plan, organize, and write an informative paragraph including a topic sentence, central idea, supporting details and a conclusion. Students will synthesize information when writing the paragraph about how people in Washington DC, reacted to President Lincoln's assassination, they will think deeply and gather relevant evidence. In addition, students will be given the opportunity to display their new knowledge acquired from workshop 4 when they take the Workshop #4 Interim Assessment.

Math: 7th grade math students will finish their tests on Monday and will be working on their pre-tests for the upcoming unit! Teachers will be having conferences with students during class on Monday and Tuesday to show them their growth from the Unit 1 Pre-Test to the Post test! We will also discuss grades and any behavior issues. On Wednesday and Thursday, we will begin Unit 2 over expressions and equations and Friday students will be working in stations practicing combining like terms.

Science: Life Science scholars are still working at becoming elite ecologists! We will begin to discuss the difference between Food Webs and Food Chains and engage in a variety of activities that emphasize the importance of ecological relationships between all biotic (living) and abiotic (non-living) factors in Food Webs. This week we will cover the energy pyramid diagram. We will continue to complete INB (interactive notebook) activities and we are checking to make sure all students are staying up to date with their INB. Life Science classes will have a Summative Exam on Tuesday.

Social Studies: We are in the middle of the Middle East History unit. This week, we will discuss the involvement of the United States in the Middle East which will include discussions about the Persian Gulf War and the Iraq War after the events of 9/11, On the long days, students will work on their choice board activities in which they can decide whether to complete a BrainPop video or create a FunkoPop figurine collection.

What Is For Lunch?

Have a question or concern? Contact Us!

Teachers pictured from left to right:

Anna Waddell-Social Studies-awaddell@bryan.k12.ga.us

Drew Fulton-Math-dfulton@bryan.k12.ga.us

Lindsey Lothridge-Math-llothridge@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anna Lewis-Social Studies-alewis@bryan.k12.ga.us

John Allmond-ESS Math-jallmond@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bethany Gordon-ELA-bgordon@bryan.k12.ga.us

Melissa Tedder-Science-mtedder@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bobi Hester-ESS Read 180-bhester@bryan.k12.ga.us

Brandi Miller-Read 180-brandi.miller@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anne Marie Aldred-Science-aaldred@bryan.k12.ga.us

Our admin team!!

Liz Raeburn-Principal-eraeburn@bryan.k12.ga.us

Blaine Ennis-Assistant Principal-Athletic Director-bennis@bryan.k12.ga.us

Abram Scott-Assistant Principal-ascott@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bryan County Middle School

600 Payne Avenue

Pembroke, GA 31321

912-626-5050

Twitter: @bryancountyms