Loading

8th Grade Peek of the Week January 13th-17th

NEW YEAR...SAME GOALS!!! #GROWTH

What's Happening This Week at BCMS?

#CelebrateMonday

  • #BeingELITEInOur20SquareFeet
  • Boys & Girls Basketball Away vs. Claxton @4:00!!!
  • Soccer Tryouts Begin!!!

#TurnUPTuesday

  • Being ELITE in our 20 Square Feet!!!
  • BCHS Boys & Girls AWAY vs. Metter @6/7:30!!!

#WinWednesday

  • Being ELITE in our 20 Square Feet!!!
  • District Spelling Bee!!!

#ThankfulThursday

  • Being ELITE in our 20 Square Feet!!!

#FocusFriday

  • Being ELITE in our 20 Square Feet!!!
  • Club Day!!!
  • Kona Ice will be at BCMS!!!
  • BCHS Boys & Girls HOME vs. Toombs @6/7:30!!!

Reminder: We will not have school on Monday, January 20th to observe the Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday!!!

BCMS ATHLETICS

#Winning!!!
Come out and cheer on our Redskins to VICTORY!!!

What's Happening This Week in 8th Grade???

English Language Arts

  • Read 180 (Romberg/Durrence): In READ 180, we will continue with Workshop 8- “Follow the Money.” In whole and small group, we will work on reviewing unit vocabulary and identifying verbals in sentences. In independent reading, scholars will read books on their Lexile level from the READ 180 library and complete reading logs. In APP, scholars will independently work on selected APP segments to close learning gaps and complete APP logs. Scholars should have completed a total of 4 segments, 4 novels, and 4 Ereads by Jan. 31st.
  • 8th Grade ELA (Hills): This week in 8th Grade ELA, scholars will finish their reading, writing, and vocabulary tasks over the short story, "Charles," in their literature circles. Scholars will also begin exploring the life and works of Edgar Allan Poe and begin completing tasks for the mystery, "The Tell Tale Heart" and work on reading, writing, and grammar activities using the short story in their literature circles. Lastly, on the block days this week, scholars will be completing the Winter iReady Reading Assessment.
  • 9th Grade Lit & Comp (Hills/Romberg): In Lit and Comp, scholars will finish their exploration of diversity and vignettes with “House on Mango Street” document-based questioning activities and essay writing. We will also begin reading and completing various tasks dealing with Edgar Allan Poe's mystery, "The Tell Tale Heart." Reminder: In order to receive our Unit 3 novel, Romeo and Juliet, scholars must first return their loaned copies of To Kill a Mockingbird. Scholars will receive their first Reading Check for Romeo and Juliet on Monday.

Science

  • 8th Grade Science (Herndon/Winkworth/Beasley/ Joyner): The central focus of this learning segment is to develop an understanding of wave properties and classification. The purpose is for scholars to learn the differences between electromagnetic and mechanical waves. Scholars will use graphs, data, models, and scenarios to determine the properties and classification of waves. They will understand how changes in amplitude and frequency affect changes in energy.
  • Herndon's Tutorial: Thursday's 3:35-4:30

Social Studies:

  • 8th Grade Georgia Studies (Sanchez/Styron/Beasley/Joyner): Social Studies scholars have done an awesome job of learning so much about Georgia this year! It’s been a nice long break for all of us, and we have a lot to review from first semester so we can all get back on track and into the swing of things. We will spend this week preparing for their mid-year assessment. We will review our first few units from last semester- Georgia’s Geography, Exploration and Colonization, American Revolution, and Westward Expansion. Each day will be focused on a different unit.

Math

  • 8th Grade Math (Meeks/Carver/Beasley/ Durrence): Scholars will begin identifying slope of a linear function by using the formula or by using a coordinate plane. Scholars will complete notes, practice, and a scavenger hunt to evaluate slope. Homework is due on Friday.
  • Algebra 1 (Meeks): Scholars will solve quadratic equations by completing the square as well as using the quadratic formula. Homework is due on Friday.
  • Carver's Tutorial: Tuesday's 3:35-4:30
  • Meeks's Tutorial: Wednesday's 3:35-4:30... Please contact Ms. Meeks if a different day or time is needed.

Scholar Accolades

CONGRATULATIONS to our 40+ 8th grade scholars who met BOTH of their READING & MATH WINTER MAP GOALS!!! Keep up the ELITE LEVEL WORK!!!

8th Grade Field Trips

Our scholars had an ELITE learning experience as they enjoyed the movie, Harriet, on our December field trip to Statesboro! #BestTripYet

Get ExExExcited for the Advanced Content Field Trip to Washington D.C. February 5-8, 2020!!!

Log onto kellytours.com to reserve your spot!!!

Are you ready for the 8th Grade Field Trip on May 15th to Universal Studios in Orlando, Florida to experience GRADVENTURE???

Log onto kellytours.com to reserve your spot!!!

Lunch Information

Nom! Nom! Nom!

Our #BeBCMS 2019-2020 Class Schedules!!!

Our 8th Grade Tribe

English Language Arts

  • Lexy Romberg (Read 180/9th Lit): lromberg@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Teresa Durrence (Read 180): tdurrence@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Quincy Hills (8th ELA/9th Lit): qhills@bryan.k12.ga.us

Science

  • Matthew Herndon (8th Science/Math Connections B): mherndon@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Marc Winkworth (8th Science/Creative Writing Connections B): mwinkworth@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Sunny Beasley (8th Science): sbeasley@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Robbie Joyner (8th ESS Science): rjoyner@bryan.k12.ga.us

Social Studies

  • Marie Sanchez (8th Georgia Studies): msanchez@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Christopher Styron (8th Georgia Studies): cstyron@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Sunny Beasley (8th Georgia Studies): sbeasley@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Robbie Joyner (8th Grade ESS Georgia Studies): rjoyner@bryan.k12.ga.us

Math

  • April Meeks (8th Math/Algebra 1): ameeks@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Miranda Carver (8th Math): mcarver@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Theresa Durrence (8th Math): tdurrence@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Sunny Beasley (8th Math): sbeasley@bryan.k12.ga.us

CONGRATULATIONS TO OUR ELITE 8TH GRADE ELA TEACHER, COACH HILLS, FOR BEING NAMED THE BRYAN COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT'S TEACHER OF THE YEAR!!!

Coach Hills would like to thank all the administrators, faculty, staff, parents, and most importantly...THE SCHOLARS of Bryan County Middle School for making this the most ELITE middle school and community in the WORLD!!! #BeYOUBeHereBelong #BeBCMS https://www.bryancountynews.com/news/bcms-quincy-hills-named-teacher-of-year/

At BCMS We Want YOU to Have It ALL!!!

Created By
Quincy Hills
Appreciate