Atlanta Dream Through the Years Dream celebrate 10 Seasons

On October 17, 2007, the Atlanta Dream became a reality, when then-WNBA President Donna Orender announced that the city of Atlanta had been awarded a WNBA franchise, becoming the league's 14th team.

Former WNBA President Donna Orender and then-Dream owner Ronald Terwilliger Announce Franchise

On January 23, 2008, the franchise unveiled its team name, logo and colors.

Former Dream Owner Ronald Terwilliger Unveil Team Name

On April 3, 2008 Katie Feenstra and Ivory Latta helped officially unveil the Atlanta Dream team uniform.

Feenstra and Latta Unveil Atlanta Dream Uniforms

On April 9, 2008 the Atlanta Dream selected Tamera Young from James Madison University with their first draft (No. 8 overall) in franchise history.

Tamera Young during 2008 Media Day

On April 30, 2008 the Dream's official mascot, Star, was unveiled at Zoo Atlanta. Season ticket holders voted to select the name "Star".

The Atlanta Dream played its first regular-season game on May 17, 2008 opening on the road against the Connecticut Sun in Mohegan Sun Arena.

On May 23, 2008 the Atlanta Dream had its home opener in front of a sellout crowd of 11,609 fans at Philips Arena.

The Atlanta Dream selected forward Angel McCoughtry from the University of Louisville with the first pick in the 2009 WNBA Draft.

In just its third season, the Dream won the WNBA Eastern Conference Championship by completing a sweep of the New York Liberty on September 7, 2010 in Philips Arena.

On January 18, 2011, the Dream announced the additions of Mary Brock and Kelly Loeffler to the team's ownership group, forming the only all-female ownership group of a professional sports franchise in Atlanta.

Mary Brock and Kelly Loeffler in Philips Arena
The Dream clinched its second straight Eastern Conference Championship on September 27, 2011, defeating the Indiana Fever.

On March 20, 2012, Angel McCoughtry was named to the 2012 U.S. Olympic team, and helped the squad win a gold medal in London.

Angel McCoughtry at the 2012 London Summer Olympics
The Atlanta Dream won its third Eastern Conference Championship in four years on September 27, 2013.

Angel McCoughtry, Shoni Schimmel & Erika de Souza are named to the 2014 WNBA Eastern Conference All-Star Team.

McCoughtry, Schimmel & de Souza at the 2014 WNBA All-Star Game

On September 9, 2015, Dream Head Coach Michael Cooper picked up his 200th career win. Cooper became the fifth coach in WNBA history to reach 200 wins.

Head Coach Michael Cooper on the sideline

On April 7, 2016, Angel McCoughtry was named to the 2016 U.S. Olympic Women's Basketball Team.

Angel McCoughtry at the Rio 2016 Summer Olympics

Atlanta Dream unveil historic 10th Anniversary Season Logo

Atlanta Dream 10th Anniversary Season Logo

The 10th Anniversary Season Logo was designed to commemorate 10 seasons in the Women's National Basketball Association (WNBA). The newly designed logo incorporates many elements from the Atlanta Dream primary logo. The continued use of the basketball is used to emphasize moving forward and energy. The silhouette of the city was used to reinforce Atlanta and the connection between the team and the spirit of the city. The 10 stars not only represent 10 seasons in the WNBA but represent light, hope and power.

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.