2019 NAIA Men's Lacrosse Invitational Championship

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. – The Reinhardt (Ga.) men’s lacrosse team earned their third straight NAIA National Invitational Championship title with an 11-4 win over No. 6 Aquinas (Mich.) on Saturday afternoon in Grand Rapids, Mich.

Reinhardt jumped out to a 4-0 lead as Conner Mills, Zane Anderson (2), and Bennett Jarrett scored the goals for the Eagles. Aquinas got on the board at the start of the second quarter as Cam Rogers netted his sixth of the invitational to make it 4-1. The Eagles responded with a man-up goal to retake a four goal lead at 5-1.

Aquinas cut the lead to 5-2 after Walker West found the back of the net, but 21 seconds later the Eagles Gavin Banks gave Reinhardt a 6-2 lead with 2:06 left in the second quarter. Banks opened the third quarter with the first of three goals from Reinhardt as they opened up a 9-2 lead on the Saints. Chad Huffman and Jarret had the other goals for the Eagles.

Rogers and Nash West were able to make it a 9-4 game with 13:25 left in the fourth quarter, but Matt Webb made four saves in the final 11:29 to keep the Saints off the board. Reinhardt added two goals in the fourth to secure the 11-4 win.

Matt Webb was named 2019 NAIA National Invitational Most Valuable Player as he made 12 saves in the National Invitational Championship game and finished the invitational with 31 saves for a .620 save percentage.

Anderson and Jarrett scored three goals each with Huffman adding two assists and Jarrett notching one assist. Rogers led the way for Aquinas with two goals and two assists. Clayton Boerigter made 11 saves for the Saints.

All-Tournament Team

Tom Piotroski – Defender - Indiana Tech

Nick Difranco – Long Stick Midfielder - Cumberlands (Ky.)

Jake Mitchell – Defensive Midfielder - Cumberlands (Ky.)

Matt Wagner – Defender - Aquinas (Mich.)

Samuel Werner – Faceoff Specialist - Aquinas (Mich.)

Sam Klinsky – Attack - Aquinas (Mich.)

Cam Rogers – Attack - Aquinas (Mich.)

Zane Anderson – Midfielder - Reinhardt (Ga.)

Gavin Banks – Attack - Reinhardt (Ga.)

Bennett Jarrett – Attack - Reinhardt (Ga.)

Jacobs Samuels – Defender - Reinhardt (Ga.)

Most Valuable Player Matt Webb – Goalie - Reinhardt University

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a copyright violation, please follow the DMCA section in the Terms of Use.