Planet Research Joshua COrnett | Coach Barton | 4th Period

The Solar System is one of billions of planetary systems, located within the Milky Way galaxy, of the known universe. The Solar System is estimated to be 4.6 billion years old and contains the Sun, eight planets, five dwarf planets, 169 moons and thousands of asteroids and comets. The eight planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.



Diameter: 4,879 km

Moons: None

Orbit Period: 88 days

Surface Temperature: -173 to 427°C

A day on the surface of Mercury lasts 176 Earth days.



Diameter: 12,104 km

Moons: None

Orbit Period: 225 days

Surface Temperature: 462 °C

Venus is thought to be made up of a central iron core, rocky mantle and silicate crust.



Diameter: 6,752 km

Moons: 2 (Phobos & Deimos)

Orbit Period: 687 days

Surface Temperature: -153 to 20 °C

Only 18 missions to Mars have been successful.



Diameter: 133,709 km

Moons: 67

Major Moons: (Io, Europa, Ganymede & Callisto)

Rings: 4

Orbit Period: 4,333 days

Jupiter is the fourth brightest object in the solar system.



Diameter: 108,728 km

Rings: 30+

Moons: 62

Major Moons: (Titan, Enceladus, Iapetus & Rhea)

Saturn is the flattest planet.

Orbit Period: 10,756 days



Diameter: 49,946 km

Moons: 27

Major Moons: (Miranda, Titania, Ariel, Umbriel & Oberon)

Rings: 13

Orbit Period: 30,687 days

Uranus hits the coldest temperatures of any planet.



Diameter: 48,682 km

Moons: 14

Major Moons: (Triton)

Rings: 5

Orbit Period: 60,190 days

The atmosphere of Neptune is made of hydrogen and helium, with some methane.

Planet Research

Joshua Cornett | Coach Barton | 4th Period | Earth/Space

Created By
Joshua Cornett

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.