U.S. Constitution 6 Guiding principles


The Constitution is a written document based on 6 principles which are Popular Sovereignty, Limited Government, Separation of Powers, Federalism, Checks and Balances and Representative Government. It was written September 17 1787 to make basic rights for citizens and establish government and fundamental laws.


The principle Popular Sovereignty states that all governments rights come from the people. Instead of the government just having all the power this principle makes it clear that the people give government power, as stated in the preamble "We the People". The preamble also states that our government is expected to defend justice, liberty, provide peace, and safety from foreign enemies.


The principle Limited Government is what the Constitution states the powers the government has. In Artiucle 2, section 1, clause 1 it states that you cant be in one branch and then serve for another. Next in amendment 3 it states that no person can quarter any house because "We the People" this is all saying that no government leaders are above the law.


The principle Separation of Power gives specific powers to the 3 branches. In article 1, section 2, clause 2 it talks about power being divided into 3 groups. The 3 groups are legislative, executive, and judicial. Legislative's conduct laws, executive leaded by the president carries out laws and judicial intercepts the constitution and enforces laws. Lastly in article 1, section 3, clause 4 if a member of the government becomes president of state they have no vote.


The principle Federalism divides power between the states and Federal government. Instead of the Federal government having all the power, they split it up in half to maintain the balance of power. In the Constitution Article 1, section 9, clause 5 it gives power denied for states. They cant make their own money or create their own taxes.


The principle Checks and Balances prevents emerge of single power. In Article 1, section 2, clause 5 it states that the house of Representatives can impeach the president. Lastly, in Article 1, section 7, clause 1 it states that presidents don't have all the power because the senate can make changes. This all means that the president doesn't hold all the power and can be kicked out of office if necessary.


The principle Representative Government allows citizens to vote on every manner. instead of the government having all the say this principle allows citizens to vote on every manner so everyone can feel like they have a say. People vote every 4 weeks for president. In article 1, section 2 clause 1 it states that people vote every 2 years for the house of Representatives.


What are the 6 principles of the Constitution?

State in your own words what Limited Government means.

Tell what would happen if we didn't have Federalism.

Whats the main idea and theme of Representative Government.

What are the pros and cons of Separation of Power?

If you could create a 7th principle what would it be?


Created with images by robert.claypool - "United States Flag" • DavidMartynHunt - "Crowd" • DonkeyHotey - "Veto! - 3d Illustration" • el cajon yacht club - "I-voted-november-2014"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.