Championship Round Recap 2019 NAIA Division I Men's Basketball National Championship

The Tigers of Georgetown (Ky.) defeated Carroll (Mont.) by a score of 68-48 to claim the 2019 NAIA Division I Men's Basketball National Championship title.

Box Score | Bracket | Championship Results

Championship Notes

  • Attendance for the 2019 NAIA Division I National Championship was 44, 934, the largest overall attended National Championship since 1992.
  • The Tigers claimed their third National Championship title and the first since 2013.
  • The 20-point spread was the largest in the title game since 2015.
  • Eljay Cowherd of Georgetown (Ky.) finished with 45 total assists in the National Championship, which was three away from tying the championship record.

Georgetown vs. Carroll

  • The Tigers were led in scoring by Eljay Cowherd's 15 points. Troy Steward (11) and Chris Coffey (10).
  • Cowherd added five assists for Georgetown.
  • Georgetown cruised to a 20-point win despite going 2-for-10 from the 3-point line.

Georgetown vs. Carroll Cont.

  • Match Burnham led the Fighting Saints with 17 points. Burnham led the National Championship with 23.4 points per game (three game played minimum).
  • Dane Warp (11) and Matt Wyman (10) added double figures for Carroll.
  • The Fighting Saints were limited to 5-of-17 (18.5-percent) from the 3-point line.

All-Tournament Team

  • Dedrian Parmer, Science & Arts (Okla.)
  • Luke Layhew, Pikeville (Ky.)
  • Brandon Crawford, William Carey (Miss.)
  • Callum Lawson, Arizona Christian
  • Dana Abe, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
  • Matt Wyman, Carroll (Mont.)
  • Troy Steward, Georgetown (Ky.)
  • Eljay Cowherd, Georgetown (Ky.)
  • Chris Coffey, Georgetown (Ky.)


  • Chuck Taylor Award and Tournament MVP: Chris Coffey, Georgetown (Ky.)
  • Team Sportsmanship Award: William Carey (Miss.)
  • NAIA Division I Men's Basketball National Player of the Year: Jeff Garrett, LSU Shreveport (La.)
  • NAIA Coach of the Year: Chris Briggs, Georgetown (Ky.)
  • Charles S. Stevenson Hustle Award: Javontae McDavid, William Carey (Miss.)
  • NABC-NAIA Coach of the Year: Ryan Moody, Benedictine (Kan.)

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a copyright violation, please follow the DMCA section in the Terms of Use.