1. Prophase

This is the first stage of cell division.

Chromosomes start to condense and pair with their homologous and swap segments. New microtubules are forming a bipolar spindle. One of the two chromosomes move to the opposite side of the nuclear envelope which begins to break up.

2. Metaphase

This is the second phase of cell division

One set of microtubules has tethered one chromosome of each type to one spindle pole and another set tethered its homologoue to the other spindle pole. A metaphorical tug of war causes the spindles to be aligned in between the spindle poles.

3. Anaphase

This is the third phase of cell division

One of each duplicated chromosome materna or paternal moves to a swindle pole. It's homologoue moves to the opposite side of the pole. This is allowed by motor proteins and microtubules.

4. Telophase

One of each type of chromosome has arrived at the spindle pole. In most species, the cytoplasm divides at this time. All of the chromosomes are still duplicated.

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.