Council sworn in Amherst Mayor, councillors take oath of office

The newly elected members of the Amherst town council were officially sworn in during a ceremony on Nov. 3, 2020, that took placed in the Community Credit Union Business Innovation Centre.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, guests had to sign in. Prior to the start of the meeting councillors-elect had an opportunity to have some conversations before CAO Greg Herrett brought the proceedings to order. Herrett congratulated the new councillors, thanked the outgoing council members and congratulated town staff for successfully running the town's first-ever electronic election.
Herrett then turned the meeting over to Mayor David Kogon, who brought the first-ever meeting of this town council to order and read the Mi'kmaw territorial acknowledgement before introducing Rev. Dan Green, who sang O Canada and said a prayer. He was followed by Returning Officer Kim Jones, who declared the results from the Oct. 17, 2020, municipal election as official.
The meeting was then turned over to the Hon. Carole Beaton, a justice of the Nova Scotia Court of Appeal, who swore in the councillors, starting with Coun. George Baker.
Baker was followed by Coun. Sheila Christie
Hal Davidson was the next to be sworn in. Later in the meeting, his fellow councillors elected him to the position of deputy-mayor.
Coun. Lisa Emery was next to be sworn in.
Coun. Dale Fawthrop followed Coun. Emery in taking the oath of office.
Coun. Leon Landry was the last of the councillors to be sworn in.
Justice Beaton then swore in Mayor David Kogon, before placing the chain of office around his neck.
All of the council members then promised to follow the council code of conduct before CAO Herrett.
All members then had the opportunity to address the guests attending the event. All promised to work together for the improvement of the Town of Amherst. The meeting was adjourned shortly after Mayor Kogon's speech.


Tom McCoag / Town of Amherst