Fan support is critical to collegiate track & field.

That's why since the inception of The Bowerman in 2009, fans have been able to vote on which man and woman should win collegiate track & field highest individual honor. That fan vote accounts for one component of the formula used to crown the eventual winner of collegiate track & field's Heisman Trophy.

Fan voting in 2017 neared its midpoint on Monday and through three full days, Tennessee's Christian Coleman and Oregon's Raevyn Rogers own healthy leads over the competition.

Tennessee's Christian Coleman has more than 50 percent of the vote (Photos: Image of Sport)
Oregon's Raevyn Rogers is no stranger to holding off strong competition (Photos: Image of Sport).

Fans can vote for the most deserving athletes until Friday, June 30 at 11:59 pm CT. Winners of the fan vote will be announced Monday, July 3 at noon CT on

We thought this would be a perfect time to look back and see how the fan vote shook out over the past five years. So join us as we take a walk down Memory Lane in The Bowerman fan voting since 2013.

2013 - Men's Fan Vote

UCLA thrower Julian Wruck took aim at the collegiate record book throughout the 2013 track & field campaign and fans definitely noticed.

  1. Julian Wruck, UCLA - 40.6 percent
  2. Derek Drouin, Indiana - 38.6 percent
  3. Lawi Lalang, Arizona - 20.8 percent

Wruck, however, didn't win The Bowerman. Instead, that honor went to Indiana high jumper Derek Drouin.

2013 - Women's Fan Vote

Stanford hurdler Kori Carter made her presence felt throughout the 2013 track & field season and shattered the collegiate outdoor record in the 400 hurdles.

  1. Kori Carter, Stanford - 53.5 percent
  2. Brianna Rollins, Clemson - 27.2 percent
  3. Brigetta Barrett, Arizona - 19.3 percent

Carter, however, didn't win The Bowerman. Instead, that honor went to Clemson hurdler Brianna Rollins who had her own dream season and broke collegiate records in the 60 hurdles and 100 hurdles.

2014 - Men's Fan Vote

Texas A&M sprinter Deon Lendore made quick work of the competition on the track (He went undefeated in 400-meter finals) and in the fan vote.

  1. Deon Lendore, Texas A&M - 52.7 percent
  2. Edward Cheserek, Oregon - 33 percent
  3. Lawi Lalang, Arizona - 14.3 percent

Lendore brought home The Bowerman and gave the Southeastern Conference its first winner since LSU's Kimberlyn Duncan in 2012.

2014 - Women's Fan Vote

Oregon's Laura Roesler had a tremendous senior year as she swept the 800-meter titles and the fan's hearts.

  1. Laura Roesler, Oregon - 41.7 percent
  2. Courtney Okolo, Texas - 34.1 percent
  3. Sharika Nelvis, Arkansas State - 24.2 percent

Roesler won The Bowerman and gave Oregon its first female recipient in program history and first overall since Ashton Eaton nabbed the honor in 2010.

2015 - Men's Fan Vote

Akron standout Shawn Barber cleared just about every bar he attempted during the 2015 collegiate track & field season and then soared to the fan vote crown.

  1. Shawn Barber, Akron - 45.7 percent
  2. Marquis Dendy, Florida - 34.3 percent
  3. Edward Cheserek, Oregon - 20 percent

Barber, however, didn't win The Bowerman. Instead, that honor went to Florida jumper Marquis Dendy.

2015 - Women's Fan Vote

2015 was definitely "The Year of the Vault," at least how The Bowerman fan vote is concerned.

Stephen F. Austin's Demi Payne made it a clean sweep of the fan vote for those who soar 15 feet or higher into the air using carbon fiber or fiberglass poles and did so in staggering fashion.

  1. Demi Payne, Stephen F. Austin - 55.3 percent
  2. Kendra Harrison, Kentucky - 24.3 percent
  3. Jenna Prandini, Oregon - 20.4 percent

Payne, however, didn't win The Bowerman. Instead, that honor went to Oregon's Jenna Prandini, who became the first athlete in recent memory to finish last in the fan vote but win the 35-pound award.

2016 - Men's Fan Vote

Arkansas standout Jarrion Lawson pulled off the Jesse Owens Triple (won the 100, 200 and long jump at the same NCAA meet) and held off a game challenge from Texas A&M's Donavan Brazier in the fan vote.

  1. Jarrion Lawson, Arkansas - 39.9 percent
  2. Donavan Brazier, Texas A&M - 38.7 percent
  3. Edward Cheserek, Oregon - 21.4 percent

Lawson became the first man since Texas A&M sprinter Deon Lendore to win the fan vote and The Bowerman.

2016 - Women's Fan Vote

Georgia jumper Keturah Orji soared to an American record and collegiate record in the triple jump at the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships in 2016 and later earned the fan vote title as well.

  1. Keturah Orji, Georgia - 44.8 percent
  2. Courtney Okolo, Texas - 35.6 percent
  3. Raven Saunders, Ole Miss - 19.6 percent

Orji, however, didn't win The Bowerman. Instead, that went to Courtney Okolo, the Queen of the Quarter Mile.

Winners of the fan vote also won The Bowerman three of the past eight times with a clean sweep in 2014 (Deon Lendore and Laura Roelser) and one of the two winners in 2016 (Jarrion Lawson).

And just because one athlete is in the lead at the midpoint of the fan vote doesn't mean they can't come back. It happened last year in the women's vote when Keturah Orji staged a miraculous comeback over the final three days.

Which man and woman will win The Bowerman?

You'll find out Friday, December 15 when it is broadcast live from the annual USTFCCCA Convention in Phoenix, Arizona.



Image of Sport

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.