Ocean zones & organisims By, Landis Felts

What are the three ocean zones?

The three ocean zones are inter-tidal, Neretic, and the open-ocean zone.

The Inter-tidal zone

The intertidal zone, also known as the foreshore and seashore and sometimes referred to as the littoral zone, is the area that is above water at low tide and under water at high tide

The Neretic zone

The neritic zone is the relatively shallow part of the ocean above the drop-off of the continental shelf, approximately 200 meters in depth.

The Open-Ocean zone

The area of the open ocean where sunlight shines through the water is called the photic zone.

Ocean Organisims

The three different Ocean Organisims: Benthos, Nekton & Plankton


the flora and fauna found on the bottom, or in the bottom sediments, of a sea, lake, or other body of water.


aquatic animals that are able to swim and move independently of water currents.


are the diverse collection of organisms that live in the water column of large bodies of water and are unable to swim against a current. They provide a crucial source of food to many large aquatic organisms, such as fish and whales.


a rising of seawater, magma, or other liquids.
Photos of upwelling / water rising



Created with images by apasciuto - "Ocean" • Photographing Travis - "Ocean" • Rennett Stowe - "Birds on the Seashore" • rossbennetts - "Benthos" • Rennett Stowe - "shark and fish" • NASA Goddard Photo and Video - "Sediment in the Bay of Biscay" • NASA Goddard Photo and Video - "Sediment in the Bay of Biscay" • eutrophication&hypoxia - "Mauritania" • dbarcus1 - "Fog Rising" • Radoan_tanvir - "good morning pure sun rise sunset"

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.