Loading

7th Grade Peek of the Week November 18-22, 2019

School Events Coming Up

This is our final week to send in your donations for our Christmas Angel project!

Upcoming Field Trip Information

News and Other Notes

If you are planning on joining us; please complete this form ASAP: https://forms.gle/pkHZhvKLsgcBr2vJ7
Come on Redskins let's bring home a win!
Way to go Boys Basketball with their win this past Saturday! Come on girls you can do it...bring home a win this week!
$40.00! You can use My Payments Plus to pay! Go to Parent Information/My Payments Plus on our web page.
You can get #BeBCMS newsletter in a variety of ways. It is posted to our facebook page every Sunday. It is sent out via Thrillshare based on the number you have stored as primary in Powerschool, and it is also linked on our web page. Please check your Powerschool primary phone information to make sure you can get texts from Thrillshare.

Look at everything we have been up to!

Life Science students created Animal and Plant Cell models with a lot of creativity varying from: Google Slide presentations, edible, styrofoam, clay, and 2-D poster models! Social studies students began their DBQ essays and diligently worked on analyzing documents to write their paragraphs.

What's Happening This Week:

ELA: This week is all about poetry. We will start the week analyzing poetry by Dylan Thomas and continue to read our novel "A Long Walk To Water". Over the course of the week look out for grades. I will continue to update the grade book throughout the week. Please email me if you have questions.

READ180: This week students will being their second Workshop: Contagion! First, one person gets sick. Then, another. Soon, everybody's sick. Is it an outbreak? An epidemic? Students will find out what makes some diseases contagious--and how medical experts work to stop them from spreading. Students will have a "Tiny Invaders" lab on Friday, November 22nd using textual evidence from the texts we have read, in order to save the patient!

Math: In our final week before Thanksgiving break, students will continue learning about proportional relationships. Monday and Tuesday, students will complete hands on activities involving proportional relationships and will review their knowledge of proportional relationships on Tuesday with a quiz. On our two-hour long class day, students will complete a matching activity, learn about fractional unit rates, and then complete a fractional unit rates creativity assignment. By Friday, students will compare unit rates and work on iReady. By December 17th, students need to meet their individual iReady goals in order to go to the iReady celebration. The Unit 3 test will be on DECEMBER 11th and DECEMBER 12th.

Science: This week to continue learning about Cells, students will be asked to perform an experiment on Osmosis ~ the study of water movement in and out of the cell through the cell membrane (AKA plasma membrane & phospholipid bi-layer). It is going to be another Elite week, so don't miss out if you can help it. We will start the experiment on Tuesday and finish it on Friday working with a partner to measure and collaborate ideas. We will have a quick check formative assessment on Friday on Cells (remediation). Then, when we get back from Thanksgiving break, students will write a formal lab report (summative grade). It will be peer reviewed. Remediation can be offered for students over the break if needed, so please reach out if you would like your scholar to get some extra practice.

Social Studies: Students have started their work on their first DBQ essay of the year. We are tackling body paragraphs and the conclusion this week with the goal of all students being done by Friday. Students will have an opportunity to complete a peer review on Thursday as well as format their work in the MLA style of Friday.

What Is For Lunch?

Have a question or concern? Contact Us!

Teachers pictured from left to right:

Anna Waddell-Social Studies-awaddell@bryan.k12.ga.us

Drew Fulton-Math-dfulton@bryan.k12.ga.us

Lindsey Lothridge-Math-llothridge@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anna Lewis-Social Studies-alewis@bryan.k12.ga.us

John Allmond-ESS Math-jallmond@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bethany Gordon-ELA-bgordon@bryan.k12.ga.us

Melissa Tedder-Science-mtedder@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bobi Hester-ESS Read 180-bhester@bryan.k12.ga.us

Brandi Miller-Read 180-brandi.miller@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anne Marie Aldred-Science-aaldred@bryan.k12.ga.us

Our admin team!!

Liz Raeburn-Principal-eraeburn@bryan.k12.ga.us

Blaine Ennis-Assistant Principal-Athletic Director-bennis@bryan.k12.ga.us

Abram Scott-Assistant Principal-ascott@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bryan County Middle School

600 Payne Avenue

Pembroke, GA 31321

912-626-5050

Twitter: @bryancountyms