UofG Sports Bursary Athletes 2018/19

Henry Kerr- Downhill Mountain Biking Athlete and 1st year Mechanical Engineering Student

The University of Glasgow Sports Bursary Programme selected 47 athletes for support during the 2018/19 academic year from a pool of 112 incredibly talented applicants.

Hockey Athletes

McKenzie Bell (Medicine)

Millie Brown (Geography)

Jennifer Eadie (Physiology and Sport Science)

Hamish Galt (Economics)

Kate Holmes (MSc Human Nutrition)

Frances Lonergan (Anatomy)

David Nairn (Accounting and Finance)

Millie Steiger (Dentistry)

Cycling athletes include: Medicine student Gemma Penman (pictured), Neah Evans (MSc Wildlife and Livestock Management), Henry Kerr (Mechanical Engineering), Fraser Macdougall (Biology) and Jonathan Mitchell (Physiology & Exercise Science)

Rowing Athletes 2018/19

Seamus Brett (History)

Amy Fraser (Mathematics)

Kirsty Naismith (Geography)

PHM Sports Bursary Athletes for 2018/19 are as follows: Swimming athlete Anna Fleming (Neuroscience), ice hockey athlete Connor Henderson (Geography) volleyball athletes Mhairi Agnew (Accountancy) & Yana Ford (Law), table tennis athlete Alisa Khalid (Medicine), distance runner Annabel Simbson (Dentistry) and judoka Erin Peden (History).

Dr Anne Ferguson Basketball Bursaries

Kara McCormick (Law)

Stella Dobson (Sociology)

Sofia Schmitz (Business & Management and Philosophy)

Sandy Sutherland Basketball Bursary

Kieran Dowling (Psychology)

Gordon Josey Basketball Bursary

Unai Martin Abad (Psychology)

Netball Athletes: Law student Emma Love (pictured) and Ella Gibbons studying MSc in Equality & Human Rights
The sports bursary programme also supports two individuals pursuing officiating careers on a world stage: Ruairidh Campbell (History) is a rugby referee whilst Tem Freya (Central & Eastern European Studies & Russian) umpires in Roller Derby.

Other athletes include:

Amy McDonald - Curling (Psychology)

Sam Allan- Kickboxing (Sports & Exercise Science and Medicine)

Harris Booth -Freestyle Skiing (Product Design Engineering)

Laura Boyd -Ultimate Frisbee (PhD Nuclear Physics)

Matthew Carder - Badminton (Real Estate MSc)

Robyn Geddes - Archery (Veterinary Medicine)

Alasdair Ireland - Sailing (Global Economy)

Alisa Khalid - Table Tennis (Medicine)

Louise McMillan - Rugby (Law)

Mitchell Rao - Cricket (Physiology and Sports Science)

Isabelle Rayner - Triathlon (Geography)

Yaser Razouk - Table Tennis (Law with French)

Annabel Simpson - Athletics (Dentistry)

Sol Sweeney - Athletics/Cross Country (Economics)

Ross Thompson - Rugby (Law)

Scott Waitt - Alpine Ski Racing (Product Design Engineering)

Laura Julia Zantis - Karate (Marine & Freshwater Biology)

The Sports Bursary Programme is only viable due to the continued financial support of all our valued donors. If you would like to discuss supporting our programme please contact sport@glasgow.ac.uk

Donations can be made via the following link:


Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a copyright violation, please follow the DMCA section in the Terms of Use.