101st Westchester Amateur Championship Knollwood Country Club | July 6-8, 2020


The 101st edition of the Westchester Amateur Championship will take place July 6-8 at Knollwood Country Club in Elmsford, N.Y.

Following 18 holes of on-site qualifying, the top 15 scores will advance to match play, with three-time defending champion Christian Cavaliere of Mahopac taking the top seed.

Past winners of the historic championship include John G. Anderson, Willie Turnesa, Jerry Courville, George Zahringer III, and record five-time winner Jon Saxton.


As a member of Sunningdale Country Club and Siwanoy Country Club, Paul Adler was an active participant in the Westchester golf scene. His career, in which he rose to the position of governor of the New York Stock Exchange and eventually a senior partner of his own firm, Adler, Coleman & Co., allowed him to be very active in charitable efforts as well.

Alder also volunteered on the club and association level, with both his time and donations helping make a large impact on golf in the Met Area especially throughout Westchester. For this reason, the trophy was named in his honor.


Knollwood's original layout was completed by Lawrence Van Etten in 1894, but prominent architects A.W. Tillinghast, Seth Raynor and Charles Banks all had a hand in its current design.

Most recently in 2016, Knollwood completed a restoration project that included work on its bunkers and tees and removal of trees under the guidance of architect Ian Andrew.

Knollwood's par-3 16th, Eden. Photo by Evan Schiller

Knollwood has hosted the Westchester Amateur Championship three times, last welcoming the event in 2001.


Three-time defending champion, Christian Cavaliere of Mahopac.

Christian Cavaliere, Mahopac

Cavaliere returns in 2020 aiming to become the fifth four-time champion in the event's history. He also has the chance to become just the second player to win four-consecutive titles (John Saxton, 1981-85).

Brad Tilley, Sleepy Hollow

Tilley is the 2005 Westchester Amateur champion, and is already off to a strong start in 2020 after advancing to the semifinals of the Connecticut Amateur.

Tilley closed 2019 in impressive fashion, winning the NYSGA, WGA and MGA Mid-Amateur championships in addition to the Gene Sarazen Invitational, leading him to a fifth-place finish on the MGA's year-end Honor Roll.

Tom Yellin, Stanwich Club

Tom Yellin rounds out past champions in the field, claiming the title in 1991. Yellin won the Senior Westchester Amateur in 2018 and 2019.

Eric Terminello, Knollwood

Terminello finished as runner-up last year at Winged Foot and will look to make another deep run in this year's championship with it taking place at his home club.


Clockwise, from top left: Saptak Talwar, Jack Boatwright, James McHugh, Luke Sample, Nathan Han.


Evan Schiller, Tim Hartin