ELKO! Eve of Destruction June 15, 2019

By Jason D Searcy

June 15, 2019- Elko, MN

A brief rain shower at the beginning of the race night couldn’t dampen the spirits of the hearty Eve of Destruction fans at ELKO on Saturday night.

The first Late Model feature event sponsored by The Car Lot in New Prague (MN), had Ryan Varner #31 lead lap one, he was quickly passed by veteran driver and former MN state NASCAR Champion Chad Walen #52 from Prior Lake (MN) on lap 2. Walen then shot to a huge lead and never looked back, Walen won the 30 lap cautionless race by an impressive 2.578 seconds over #51 Justin Neisius, #32 Jeremy Wolff finished third, Varner was fourth and #21 Adam Bendzick was fifth of the 16 cars competing. Defending ELKO Champion #72 Jacob Goede started 12th and finished 8th. Qualifying was rained out. Walen was the 7th consecutive different Late Model winner to start the 2019 season at Elko Speedway.

The second NASCAR Late Model feature had 17 entries as LaCrosse (WI) champion Nick Panitzke joined the field. Devyn Stocker #14 led the entire race until #72 Jacob Goede from Carver (MN) made a bold pass on the high side and took the lead on lap 19. Goede then checked out and won by 1.086 seconds over #13 Bryan Wrolstad, #21 Adam Bendzick moved up 6 positions to finish third, Stocker was fourth and #6 Owin Giles was fifth. Goede was the first two-time winner of the season in the Car Lot Late Models.

Jacob Goede is looking for his 6th consecutive point title at Elko Speedway, he is the current leader by 21 points over #3 Chris Marek.

The Great North Legends had 18 racers competing the twin 20 lap features at ELKO. The first feature had #31 Greg Erhardt lead early, he was passed by #8 Cole Klein who moved all the way up from his 11th starting spot to take the lead on lap seven. Defending Champion #75 Baiden Heskett from Shakopee (MN) then came up from his 14th starting spot to take the lead from Klein on lap 14 and just barely held on for the win. Heskett edged Klein by only .253 seconds at the finish line, it was already his fourth win at ELKO this year. Robby Carter #03 was third followed by #71 Jon Lemke and #26 Will McCully.

The second Great North Legends feature had two-time Bando Champion #8 Colin Stocker take the lead until #11 Jessie Mahoney took over the top spot. Fifteen year old Austin Jahr #47 from Farmington (MN) then grabbed the lead on lap 6 and fought back tough challenges by #8 Cole Klein for the rest of the race. Jahr beat Klein by just .088 seconds at the line to win his first ever ELKO feature race. Baiden Heskett #75 finished third, #16 Matt Allen was fourth and #03 Robby Carter was fifth.

Heskett leads Klein by 16 points in the race for the 2019 Championship at Elko Speedway.

The Pepsi Power stocks raced twin 20 lap features and #27 Darin Patnode led the first half of the first feature. Defending Champion #8 Taylor Goldman from Minnetonka (MN) moved up from her third row starting spot to take the lead on lap 13 and ran away with a big lead as a great battle ensued behind her. Goldman won by 2.221 seconds over #08 Michael Stoer with #83 Julie Jorgenson, #88 Nick Oxborough and Patnode all finishing within .53 seconds of each other in that order. It was the first win of 2019 for Taylor Goldman.

The second feature had #41 Ben Gannon lead a few laps until #88 Nick Oxborough from Lakeville (MN) jumped to the front and took off for a huge lead. 2016 Champion Oxborough beat #08 Michael Stoer by 3.57 seconds at the finish line, Taylor Goldman #8 was third followed by #27 Darin Patnode and #83 Julie Jorgenson. It was the second win of the season for Oxborough.

Nick Oxborough is the current point leader at ELKO, he has a 43 point advantage over Michael Stoer.

All points and results are unofficial until posted midweek at ElkoSpeeway.com

The large Eve of Destruction crowd was treated to great Monster Truck action from Brandan Tulachka in Just Git R Done II and Josh Baumgartner in Mechanical Mischief. Talachka was the ELKO fan vote winner.

Four incredible drifters put on a great show of skill for the crowd. Austin Matta from Shakopee was the ELKO fan vote winner.

Twin brothers Sawyer and Shannon did motorcycle stunts for the fans and kids enjoyed the animals from the Farm in the concourse area.

The Figure 8 School bus races are a crowd favorite and Kari Miller #6 was chosen the winner by the post-race ELKO fan vote.

Next up at Elko Speedway is NASCAR Whelen all american racing on Saturday June 22nd. Get more information at ElkoSpeedway.com or download our free app, search ELKO racing.

Elko Speedway is a NASCAR sanctioned 3/8th mile asphalt oval racetrack with stadium seating located just 30 minutes South of the Twin Cities in Elko-New Market (MN).

Created By
ELKO! Speedway

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a copyright violation, please follow the DMCA section in the Terms of Use.