Loading

7th Grade Peek of the Week December 2-6, 2019

Parent meeting on Monday, December 9th at 6:15 pm for those whose children are attending the DC Trip.

Field Trip Forms due Wednesday, December 11th

#CelebrateMonday 12/2
  • Let's make it an awesome week!
  • Field Trip forms go home
#TurnUpTuesday 12/3
  • Tutoring until 4:30
#WinWednesday 12/4
  • SRI Testing in Read 180
  • Open INB Quiz in Aldred Life Science
  • Parent University at 4:30
  • Basketball game at 4:00
#ThankfulThursday 12/5
  • SRI Testing in Read 180
  • Open INB Quiz in Aldred Life Science
#FocusFriday 12/6
  • Open notes quiz in social studies
  • Enjoy your weekend!

Content Info For The Week

  • ELA (Gordon): This week we will finish our book "A Long Walk To Water" and prepare for our Unit test Monday December 9th. As we finish up our novel we will be reading informational text about the different tribes in Sudan and focusing on citing evidence to support our inferences. Wednesday and Thursday we will participate in a simulation of what it is like to walk for water in Africa.
  • Read 180 (Hester & Miller): Students will be reading an article and learning how to use their own schema to draw conclusions, inferences, about what the text does not explicitly state. Then, students will be taking the Scholastic Reading Inventory (SRI) test to show growth in their Lexile. Lastly, students will focus on key vocabulary for this until to prepare for their Interim Assessment next week --Monday & Tuesday!
  • Math (Allmond, Fulton, Lothridge): Students will begin learning about percentages and how percentages are used in our everyday lives. Students will participate in a real world activity during our 2 hour long class period and will play a math scavenger hunt on Friday. There will be lots of fun in math coming back from the break!
  • Science (Aldred & Tedder): We are starting to wrap up our Cell Biology Unit. Students we be completing various activities including finalizing their lab reports from our Elite Osmosis Lab on Cell Membrane as well as focusing on important topics like Photosynthesis. Study guides will be given out in class on Wednesday and Thursday and will be reviewed together on Friday. Our Unit Test is planned for the following week on Tuesday December 10, 2019.
  • Social Studies (Lewis & Waddell): We are starting a new unit and a new region this week! We are moving on from the Middle East to Southeast Asia and will focus on geography first. This unit has quite a bit of physical features for students to learn and will concentrate on the countries of China, India, Japan, Vietnam, North Korea, and South Korea. All notes and study materials can be found on Google Classroom.

Look what we have been up to!

Mrs. Waddell's homeroom class raised over $310 dollars for the Christmas Angel Fund!!
🗣•Hard Work• 🗣•Pays Off• Adrian Peterson came to speak to our scholars!
In Read180, scholars are portraying doctors 🥼 🧤 to diagnose patients with different CONTAGIONS🦠 👩🏻‍🏫 👨🏽‍🏫 they are using TEXTUAL EVIDENCE found in various texts to build & present their cases.
World Cafe activity in Mrs. Gordon's class! #BeBCMS ❤️☺️🌟🎉🤓
Our 7th grades helped pick out prizes for the teachers who won Turkey Bingo!

December Field Trip To The Movies!!

Field trip forms will go home on Monday, December 2nd. You can also pay on MyPaymentsPlus! Forms/payment is due on Friday, December 13th.

We will view the movie in Savannah and then go to the Savannah Mall for lunch.

March Grade Level Field Trip to Atlanta

2019-2020 7th Grade Trip

Date: Friday, March 27th

Trip #13401

$165-Paid in Full by: March 1st

*Offered via Kelly Tours*

https://kellytours.com/

**Behavior Requirements Apply**

Advanced Content Trip to Washington, D.C.

Date: Wednesday, February 5-8th

Trip #13402

$649-Paid in Full by: April 15th

*Offered via Kelly Tours*

https://kellytours.com/

**Behavior Requirements Apply**

7th Grade Team Contact Info!

Teachers pictured from left to right:

Anna Waddell-Social Studies-awaddell@bryan.k12.ga.us

Drew Fulton-Math-dfulton@bryan.k12.ga.us

Lindsey Lothridge-Math-llothridge@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anna Lewis-Social Studies-alewis@bryan.k12.ga.us

John Allmond-ESS Math-jallmond@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bethany Gordon-ELA-bgordon@bryan.k12.ga.us

Melissa Tedder-Science-mtedder@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bobi Hester-ESS Read 180-bhester@bryan.k12.ga.us

Brandi Miller-Read 180-brandi.miller@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anne Marie Aldred-Science-aaldred@bryan.k12.ga.us

BCMS Administration Team!

Liz Raeburn-Principal-eraeburn@bryan.k12.ga.hs

Abram Scott-Assistant Principal-ascott@bryan.k12.ga.us

Blaine Ennis-Assistant Principal/Athletic Director-bennis@bryan.k12.ga.us