Percy Jackson and the Olympians vs. The Heroes of Olympus By Nethni Weerasekara hour 1

I am doing my book project on two series that are written by the same author, Rick Riordan. The first series is called Percy Jackson and the Olympians. The second series is called The Heroes of Olympus. There are similarities and differences in the two different series. Let's start with the first one.
There are five books in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. They are The Lightning Thief, The Sea of Monsters, The Titans Curse, The Battle of the Labyrinth, and The Last Olympian. In the Lightning Thief the reader is introduced to the main character, Percy Jackson. Percy finds out that he is a Greek demigod. A demigod is a child of a mortal and a God. Percy is a son of Poseidon. He travels to Camp Half-Blood, a safe haven for demigods like Percy to train to fight monsters. At the camp, Percy befriends Annabeth Chase, a daughter of the wisdom goddess Athena, and Grover Underwood, a satyr. satyr's are HALF MAN AND HALF GOAT BEINGS THAT ARE FOLLOWERS OF THE WILDERNESS GOD PAN. THE MAIN VILLAIN IN THIS SERIES IS KRONOS THE TITAN LORD. KRONOS HAS RISEN FROM TARTARUS, THE DEEPEST AND DARKEST PART OF THE UNDERWORLD AND IS TRYING TO TAKE OVER THE WORLD. PERCY, HIS FRIENDS, AND THE REST OF CAMP HALF-BLOOD MUST BATTLE KRONOS'S ARMY OF MONSTERS AND BEASTS, WITH A LITTLE HELP FROM THE GREEK GOD'S THEMSELVES. READ THIS AMAZING SERIES TO FIND OUT ABOUT THE FRIEND TURNED TRAITOR, THE MASSIVE TYPHOON THAT IS SQUASHING THE GOD'S LIKE FLIES, AND THE THRILLING END TO SEE IF THE HEROES, OR THE MONSTERS WIN.
The second series that I read was the Heroes of Olympus series by the same author, Rick Riordan. There is a total of five books in this series. They are The Lost Hero, The Son of Neptune, The Mark of Athena, The House of Hades, and The Blood of Olympus. We learn that there is not only one but two demigod camps. One is Camp Half-Blood which is in the first series. The second is a Roman demigod camp called Camp Jupiter. There are seven main characters in this series. Some of the characters are in the first book series that I wrote about. The main characters are Percy Jackson, Annabeth Chase, Leo Valdez, Piper McLean, Jason Grace, Hazel Levesque, and Frank Zhang. They are all demigods. We meet the characters in different books. For example, Piper, Jason, and Leo are introduced in the first book. We meet Frank and Hazel in the second book. By the third book, all seven demigods unite and are flying off in their ship the Argo II to defeat one of the greatest evils of all time; Gaea. In Greek mythology, Gaea symbolized the Earth. She was put into a deep slumber thousands of years ago, but now she is awakening. Gaea controls everything on the Earth, she can make the ground turn into to quicksand and make volcanoes erupt. It's obvious that she can be dangerous if she wants too. The demigods must find a way to defeat the Earth mother, if that's even possible. Read the Heroes of Olympus to find out about the battles with monsters that are out of this world, and the amazing conclusion to see whether the seven demigods can defeat one of the most horrible evils of all time.


Both the of series include Percy Jackson and Annabeth Chase as a main character.
They both include mythology gods in the books.
Both series have five books in the whole series.
The main characters have to save the world from impending doom and a dangerous villain with a powerful monster army.
In both series, the gods do not like to help the demigods on their quest.
Demigod camps are featured in both series.
Both series are written by the same author, Rick Riordan
The main characters all become friends through the course of the series, in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, and the Heroes of Olympus series.


In the Percy Jackson series, there are three main characters, Percy Jackson, Annabeth Chase, and Grover Underwood. In the Heroes of Olympus series, there are seven main characters. They are Percy Jackson, Annabeth Chase, Leo Valdez, Piper McLean, Jason Grace, Hazel Levesque, and Frank Zhang.
The Percy Jackson series only has Greek Gods in the books, but the Heroes of Olympus has Gods in their Greek and Roman form.
In the first series, there is only one demigod camp, Camp Half-Blood, that only has Greek demigods training and living there. We find out in the Heroes of Olympus series that there is a Roman demigod camp, Camp Jupiter.
The main characters consist of both Roman and Greek demigods in the second series, while the main characters are only Greek demigods in the first series.
In Percy Jackson and the Olympians, the main villain is the Titian lord Kronos, but in the Heroes of Olympus, the main villain is Gaea, the Earth.
Another difference between the two series is that in the Percy Jackson series, the demigods only travel to Las Vegas, Nevada but in the Heroes of Olympus series, the seven demigods travel to Rome, Italy and Athens, Greece.
If you liked the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan, then I highly recommend reading the Heroes of Olympus series. Personally I liked the way that Rick Riordan wrote the Percy Jackson series and how he always included detail and chose interesting words that made the story flow. When I read the Heroes of Olympus, I felt the same way. When I was reading both of these series, I could feel what the characters were feeling, that's how well the characters were developed and incorporated into the story. If you read the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, then you should definitely read the Heroes of Olympus series because it is just as amazing and mind-blowing as the Percy Jackson series.

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.