The South African unit of currency is the rand (R), which is divided into 100 cents.

Coins are put in values of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 cents, along with R1, R2 and R5. Notes are printed in the symbols of R10, R20, R50, R100 and R200. The designs of South Africa’s currency reflect the country’s diverse fauna. The coins depict wildlife, mainly antelope and birds, and the notes have pictures of the ‘big five’ wild animals (which are those that most tourists want to see most): a rhino on the R10 note (which is green), an elephant on the R20 note (brown), a lion on the R50 (red), a buffalo on the R100 (blue) and a leopard on the R200 (orange).

There are two types of R2 and R5 coins currently in circulation, as a new design was released in August 2004 to mark ten years of South African democracy. The new R2 coins are identical to the old ones, except the new R5, have an edged ‘security’ groove and is slightly heavier than the old coin.

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.