The US Government

Branches of Government


There are three different branches in the US government. Each branch is responsible for different parts of law and enforcement. There are many different types of representatives and politicians that make up the branches. Each branch in the government uses checks and balances. Checks and balances is the term for making sure no part of the government has too much power. The checks and balances create a way where the branches of government work together in order to keep power balanced. An example of this is the way the Judicial branch can deny the laws the legislative branch makes, so they share the power and neither of them have too much. They all have different power among each other, maintaining an equal balance.

Judicial Branch

The judicial branch is responsible for deciphering the meaning of laws. This means that they decide if laws are constitutional and relevant. A main concept in the judicial branch is the Supreme Court. There are 9 justices in the Supreme Court, which are nominated by the President. The Supreme Court is what makes the decision on laws, and can either accept or reject a law. They normally only deal with American laws and affairs.

Executive Branch

The executive branch’s job is to accept and pass laws. This branch onsists of the President, Vice President, the Cabinet, and executive boards and committees. These positions are all voted on by either US citizens or members of the senate. The President leads the country, the Vice President supports the President, and the Cabinet members are advisers to the President. The Cabinet members nominated and approved by the President.

Legislative Branch

The legislative branch is mostly made up of the Congress. The congress is made up of the Senate and the House of Representatives. There are two senators per state, thus equaling 100 total senators. A Senate term lasts for six years and a there is no limit on reelections. The House of Representatives is made up of Representatives from the 50 states, but the amount per state depends on population. In total, there are 435 Representatives, who each serve two year terms. There is also no limit on how many times you can be elected. The job of the legislative branch is to make laws. This means the legislative branch is in charge of approving or rejecting laws made by the President.

Personal Reflection

I think that the judicial branch is the hardest to understand. I find it semi-confusing how a group of people would be able to determine if a law is constitutional or not. I feel like this branch is based off of a lot of opinions and can be very one-sided depending on the current president. I am not sure how fair this branch actually seems because it is not all based off of facts. In order to deeper understand this topic, I can research was is considered what is considered constitutional. This will help me deeper understand this topic.

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.