ELKO! Eve of Destruction August 3, 2019 • Sponsored by the Minnesota Professional Towing Association

Elko, MN - 8/3/2019

By Jason D. Searcy

On Saturday night, the unofficial second half of the season began at Elko Speedway with an Eve of Destruction presented by The Minnesota Professional Towing Association.

In the first Feature of the premier NASCAR Late Model Division at Elko Speedway sponsored by The Car Lot of New Prague (MN), #21 Adam Bendzick from New Prague (MN), took the early lead and held off a late charge from #51 Justin Neisius to win by 0.101 seconds in the 30 lap cautionless race. Ryan Kamish #42 finished third, followed by #54 Dylan Moore, #13 Bryan Wrolstad in fifth, with fast qualifier #72 Jacob Goede finishing sixth in the 19 car field. That was the third win of the season for Adam Bendzick.

In the second Late Model Feature 30 lap event, #14 Devyn Stocker took the lead off the start. On lap 5, #3 Chris Marek from Lakeville (MN) challenged for the lead and took the top spot one lap later. Marek garnered a huge lead and won by 1.481 seconds over #26 Lawrence Berthiaume. Bryan Wrolstad #13 finished third, followed by #72 Jacob Goede and #14 Devyn Stocker in fifth. Elko Speedway fans were thrilled by lots of side by side action throughout the field, as well as 60 combined laps of caution-free racing, giving Marek his second win of the season.

Jacob Goede continues to lead in the standings by 53 points over Chris Marek in the race for the Late Model Championship.

In the first Genz-Ryan Thunder Car Feature, #28 Paul Neisius from Hastings (MN), started on the pole and led the entire 20 lap race by 0.616 seconds over fast-qualifier #3 Conrad Jorgenson. Former Thunder Car Champion Jeremy Wolff #32 finished third. Eric Campbell #25 came in fourth, and #10 Dusty Mann returned for the first time since opening night to finish fifth in the 14 car field. This win by Neisius breaks the streak of 13 consecutive races in which either Conrad Jorgenson or Bryce Blohm won.

The winner of the second 20 lap Thunder Car Feature, Bryce Blohm #37 from Lakeville (MN), rebounded after finishing seventh in the first event, taking the top spot on lap 4 from #14 Tony Holm to claim his eighth win of the season. Despite the field being shaken up by numerous cautions, Blohm had a 3.115 second lead over second place finisher #25 Eric Campbell at the line. Keith Paulsrud #75 was third, and point leader #3 Conrad Jorgenson finished fourth after working his way up from the back of the field, and Jeremy Wolff #32 was fifth.

Conrad Jorgenson increased his point lead from 6 to 12 over Bryce Blohm in the race for the Thunder Car Championship at Elko Speedway.

In the first Pepsi Power Stock 20 lap Feature event, veteran drivers #66 Joe Prusak and #71 Tom Quade from Bloomington (MN), raced side by side until Quade took the lead on lap 6. Quade ran away from the field until late in the race when defending Champion, #8 Taylor Goldman, challenged for the top spot but came up 0.284 seconds short at the finish line, giving Quade his second win of the season. Michael Stoer #08 finished third, Prusak was fourth, and #27 Darin Patnode was fifth in the 12 car field. Fast qualifier #88 Nick Oxborough, had mechanical problems and did not finish.

In the second 20 lap Power Stock Feature, #33 Craig Wierson led the first lap, until #56 Paul Hamilton from Hastings (MN), grabbed the top spot on lap 2. Jason Michaud #41 challenged for the lead and took it on lap 14. The two drivers swapped the top spot several times coming to the finish with both cars side by side and Hamilton winning by 0.044 seconds. Michaud was later disqualified in post-race inspection, giving the second spot to Joe Prusak #66. Darin Patnode #27 finished in third, and Michael Stoer #08 was fourth. Nick Oxborough #88 was fifth driving Taylor Goldman’s backup car, finishing one spot ahead of #8 Goldman in the race.

Oxborough continues to lead the standings with a 28 point lead over Michael Stoer and 51 points ahead of Taylor Goldman in the race for the Power Stock Championship at Elko Speedway.

Points and results are not official at the time of this release.

The large Elko Speedway Eve of Destruction crowd was entertained by Minnesota Professional Towing Association drag racing.

The burnout contest winner was Jerry Halverson from Farmington (MN), driving a 1977 Chevy Impala. The Monster Truck winner, as determined by the crowd, was Brandon Tulachka from Kewaunee (WI) driving Just Get-Er-Done II. The Eve of Destruction event also featured Figure 8 School Bus Racing and an Officials versus Drivers exhibition race.

Coming up Saturday, August 10th is the Annual Tribute Night at Elko Speedway. Gates open at 5pm, and action begins at 6pm. Get more information at ElkoSpeedway.com or download the free Elko Racing App.

Elko Speedway is a NASCAR sanctioned ⅜ mile asphalt oval race track with stadium seating, located 30 minutes South of the Twin Cities in Elko/New Market, MN.

Created By
ELKO! Speedway

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a copyright violation, please follow the DMCA section in the Terms of Use.