Alma Björklund

My name is Alma Björklund (I dare you to try pronouncing my last name!) and I'm 22 years old. I was born and raised in Sweden, but when I was finishing up my last year of high school my family moved to Wellington, FL.

I grew up in the southernmost part of Sweden (very close to Denmark), in a region called Skåne. Summer there is beautiful, but during the winter months it is usually extremely cold, and we only get about seven hours of daylight.

The transition from Sweden to the U.S. was surprisingly easy. But, then again, someone once said that Sweden is the most Americanized country in the world, with the U.S. being a close second.

**Note my sweater!

After starting my college career off at Wake Forest University in North Carolina, I ultimately decided that I wanted to be closer to home (and in warmer weather!), and transferred to UM. Needless to say, one of the better decisions I have made!

Outside of school, I spend most of my time on horseback. My family has always had horses, and I have been riding for as long as I can remember. I started competing in showjumping at the higher levels when I was about 15, and have continued to do so throughout college.

I spend about five hours a day (when I'm not in school) training myself and my horses to be at our very best during the two minutes of competition in the ring. This may seem crazy to some people, but the sport is more of a lifestyle than anything, and has without a doubt shaped who I am as a person today.

Thank you for listening!

Credits:

Created with images by ChadCooperPhotos - "The U"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.