Mexico Ashlee seltzer & robert Zawacki

1.)Introduction write out the history of the country: The site of several advanced Amerindian civilizations including the Maya and Aztec, Mexico was conquered and colonized by Spain in the early 16th century. Administered as the Vice royalty of New Spain for three centuries, it achieved independence in the early 19th century.

2.)Population: 123,166,749. World Ranking: 12

3.) Economy: Mexico’s $2.2 trillion economy has become increasingly oriented toward manufacturing in the 22 years Since the North American Free Trade Agreement entered into force. GDP: $2.307 trillion as of 2016.

4.)Unemployment rate and working rankings: 4.4% as of 2016. Working ranking is 43.

5.)Main Industries: Food and beverages, tobacco, chemicals, iron and steel, petroleum, mining, textiles, clothing, motor vehicles, consumer durables, tourism.

6.)Government Type: Federal Presidential Republic

7.) Capital: Mexico City

8.)Administrative divisions: 31 states (estados, singular - estado) and 1 city* (ciudad); Aguascalientes, Baja California, Baja California Sur, Campeche, Chiapas, Chihuahua, Coahuila de Zaragoza, Colima, Cuidad de Mexico*, Durango, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jalisco, Mexico, Michoacan de Ocampo, Morelos, Nayarit, Nuevo Leon, Oaxaca, Puebla, Queretaro, Quintana Roo, San Luis Potosi, Sinaloa, Sonora, Tabasco, Tamaulipas, Tlaxcala, Veracruz de Ignacio de la Llave (Veracruz), Yucatan, Zacatecas

9.)Independence:16th of september 1810

10.)Information about their constitution: Several previous; latest approved 5 February 1917; amended many times, last in 2015 (2016)

11.) Give a description of their legal system: civil law system with US constitutional law influence; judicial review of legislative acts

12.)Suffrage(voting age): 18 years of age; universal and compulsory

13.) Executive Branch: Head of State: President Enrique PENA NIETO, Cabinet appointed by the president. President is directly elected by simple majority popular vote for a single 6-year term

14.)Legislative Branch: Bicameral National Congress or Congreso de la Union consists of the Senate or Camara de Senadores (128 seats; 96 members directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by simple majority vote and 32 directly elected in a single, nationwide constituency by proportional representation vote; members serve 6-year terms) and the Chamber of Deputies

15.)Judicial Branch: Supreme Court of Justice or Suprema Corte de Justicia de la Nacion (consists of the chief justice and 11 justices and organized into civil, criminal, administrative, and labor panels) and the Electoral Tribunal of the Federal Judiciary (organized into the superior court, with 7 judges including the court president and 5 regional courts, each with 3 judges). Supreme Court justices nominated by the president of the republic and approved by two-thirds vote of the members present in the Senate; justices serve for life; Electoral Tribunal superior and regional court judges nominated by the Supreme Court and elected by two-thirds vote of members present in the Senate; superior court president elected from among its members to hold office for a 4-year term; other judges of the superior and regional courts serve staggered, 9-year terms


Created with images by Free Grunge Textures - - "Mexico Grunge Flag"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.