Joe & Laci Salazar our story before you

Dear Birth Mom: Thank you so much for looking at our profile. We are impressed by your strength and courage and we respect you for making the decision to choose adoption for your child. We are honored that you are taking the time to get to know us. We have spent many unsuccessful years trying to start our family the conventional way and we have decided that we would like to grow our family through adoption. We are looking forward to meeting you.

The Story of Joe Salazar

Hello my name is Joe and I was born in good old Garden City, Kansas to Jesus and Nora Salazar. I grew up with 4 brothers and 2 sisters and all of our first names start with the letter "J" (my moms idea). My siblings and I were raised in the church which made us who we are today. We learned to respect our elders and treat everyone as we wanted to be treated. My siblings and I are all different and unique in our own ways. To this day, I don’t know how my parents did it with so many of us. We were quite a handful.

In order: Janie, Junior, Johnny, ME, Joshua, Jessica and Joel. That's also me in the red shirt.

THE LOVE OF THE GAME

Growing up behind a park was one of the best things that ever happened to us and probably to my parents. We would spend all day playing baseball, basketball and football with the neighborhood kids. However, baseball was and still is my passion. One of the best things about baseball besides the tradition, the sportsmanship and the friendships, is being in the moment. I remember I would see everyone smiling and truly living in that moment. We played every summer evening until my mom would call us home.

MY CAREER

Besides the paper route growing up, my first job started when I was 15 working for Pioneer. I remember the hot summer days in a corn field cross pollinating all day. It was there I learned what hard work meant. My parents instilled in us a work ethic that I still believe in today.

Graduation: Believe it or not I had no clue what I was going to do after graduation. Like most of us, I told myself I would figure it out during the Summer time. I just figured I would get a part time job and enroll in college the following semester. My parents were understanding so my dad helped me get a job at the local beef plant known as IBP.

Once I started out at IBP (now Tyson) I quickly figured out I wanted to be a manager. Like on the baseball field, I always found myself encouraging my teammates to become better. Learning, growing and building a relationship is what it's all about. I have been a manger for Material Handling for 10 years now. My dad later told me he wanted to scare me from reality. Well 17 years later, I told him that he didn't do a good job of that. We still joke about it today.
Cooking some steaks for the team..

The story of Laci Salazar

Hello, my name is Laci. I was born and raised in Garden City, Kansas to Ron and Melissa (Ohl) Leiker. My parents had 3 children. I am the youngest and only girl. We are each 4 years apart. Growing up with older brothers was fun, but I always secretly wanted a little sister. Thankfully we had a neighborhood full of kids to play with. It wasn’t unusual to find us outside riding our bikes, playing Hot Box or Hide and Seek until the sun went down. Growing up, my family spent many weekends at the lake. If we weren’t at the lake, our weekends were spent at the race track. As their little sister, I just went with the flow. I was always their biggest cheerleader and my parents' baby girl.

Ron Jr (Butch), Tim and Laci

GROWING UP

Some other fond memories I have growing up are summers spent in Denver for 2 weeks with my paternal grandparents, (and aunt, uncle and cousins) attending family reunions, Friday night sleepovers with my maternal grandparents, playing softball in the summers and road trips with my mom. I had a great childhood and have many people that love me. I hope to be able to give that kind of childhood to my future child/children.

Ron (Dad) Butch (brother), Winsom (cousin), Willis (cousin), Tim (brother) & me. GO ROYALS!
Aunt Mag, Grandma Louise, and me
Little League Softball

Graduating from Seward County Community College

From the moment I graduated High School, I knew I wanted to work in the medical field so with a little push from my parents, I became a Nurse Aide. I completely fell in love with this job so after 4 years, I went back to school and became a Respiratory Therapist. My parents have always taught me to follow my dreams. They were and still are my biggest supporters to this day. I have always had a passion for taking care of people. The feeling I get when I know I have helped somebody is the best feeling in the world. For the last 3 years, I have worked at our local hospital, training physicians on the computer system. Recently, I have decided to take some time off in order to get our home ready for our child and decide what career path is best, while we begin the process of starting our family.

This is Us

Please watch the short video of our journey together as a couple

What Joe loves about Laci

When I first met Laci, I knew we would spend our lives together. I remember one of the first nights we hung out, we had a conversation and she told me she was planning on moving to Kansas City with her best friend. I knew there was something about her and I could not let her leave. Her beautiful smile got me hooked from the first moment, but her big heart led us to where we are now. After dating for several weeks, I understood why. Not to sound cliché but she wears her heart on her sleeve and says what she feels. She’s not afraid to try new things. Laci is very organized and has made our house our perfect HOME. Laci will be an awesome mother who will nurture and raise our child to be themselves and live life to the fullest.

What Laci Loves About Joe

From the moment Joe and I went on our first date, I knew he was somebody I could spend the rest of my life with. He was so handsome and had this quiet and reserved personality. The more I got to know him, the more I fell in love. It is very true when they say opposites attract, at least in our case. Joe’s heart is very kind and his witty sense of humor has me laughing most of the time. I always tell people I got very lucky with this one. But really, I should say blessed. He always puts others before him and expects nothing in return. He has a passion for art and sports. He takes pride in everything he does and I couldn’t be more proud to call him my husband. I can’t wait to watch him raise and guide our child through life.
We have 2 dogs who we consider family. Daizey is our 10 year old Chihuahua mix and Moto is our 6 year old Shih Tzu. They bring so much joy to our lives. Daizey and Moto's favorite thing is going to grandma's house. We can't imagine not letting our child grow up with dogs to play with.

Nieces and Nephews

Some are by blood and some are by choice but we love every single one of them. Being an aunt and an uncle is very rewarding.

Things we enjoy

Some of Laci hobbies include decorating for the holidays, cooking with her mom and grandma and sleep overs with the nieces. Some of Joe's hobbies include drawing, painting, and bowling. Together we enjoy doing pallet crafts, yard work, softball, BBQ's with friends, KC Royals baseball games, KU basketball games and attending church on Sundays.

Home Sweet Home

This is the place we call HOME. We have lived here for 8 years. We have a spacious backyard and a park down the street where one day our child/children will play.
We hope that you have caught a glimpse of what our life is like and the love we have for each other, along with our family and friends. We look forward to making sure our child knows all about where he/she comes from and we hope to have a close relationship with the birth family. Being parents will be the most amazing thing we will ever do. Thank you for taking the time to look at our profile.

Want to know more about us?

Contact Catholic Charities of Southwest Kansas at 620-792-1393.

Credits:

Created with images by derekGavey - "Keyed" • Pezibear - "wheat field wheat cereals" • miapowterr - "dad mom love"

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.