Importance Of The Papacy By. Keith Philhower

The Council of Florence (1439), the Fifth Lateran Council (1512–1517), and the First Vatican Council (1869–1870) also reaffirmed papal primacy. The First Vatican Council further defined papal infallibility, which holds that the pope is preserved from error when teaching dogmatically on matters of faith and morals.

In these passages Jesus shows his love for peter. He also tells Peter about the future and as well as telling him that he will be the Leader of his church. (Lk 22:32), (1 Cor 15:5), and (Gal 1:18)

The Second Vatican Council (1962–1965) likewise taught on the primacy of the pope. A difference was that the Second Vatican Council began its teaching first on the ministry of the bishops and then addressed the pope in relationship to the bishops.

I Have Neither Given Nor Received Help On This Work

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.