Liturgical Year By: Eva Davis

Christmas (December 25 - January 9)

  • The color for Christmas is white and gold, and they mean innocence, purity, joy, and glory.
  • The birth of Jesus is celebrated on December 25th
  • December 26th is the feast day of the first martyr, St. Stephen.
  • January 1st is the day of the Solemnity of Mary
  • January 8th is the Epiphany of the Lord
  • Christmas remembers the Nativity of Jesus and his impact on the people of the world
  • The Catholic people celebrate Christmas by going to mass on Christmas, and Mary's Feast Day.
  • Catholics also celebrate by lighting advent candles.

Ordinary T

  • Ordinary Time is made up of two periods of time in a year.
  • The first period begins on the day after the Feast of the Baptism of the Lord, and ends the day before Ash Wednesday.
  • The second period begins on the Monday after Pentecost, and ends on the Saturday before the First Sunday of Advent.
  • The color of Ordinary Time is green, and it means The Holy Ghost, hope, and life eternal.
  • The Feast of St. Brigid is on February 1st.
  • Ordinary Time takes us through the life of Christ. It is a time for thriving and maturing.
  • The Catholic Church recognizes Ordinary Time by recognizing the Sundays. Ordinary time takes us through the life of Jesus, and his teachings, which is really essential in the teachings of the Church.


  • The color of Lent is purple, and it means penance and humility.
  • Ash Wednesday is on the first day of Lent, which is March 1st.
  • March 17th is St. Patricks Day.
  • April 14th is Good Friday.
  • Lent a six-week period of penance before Easter.
  • Catholics celebrate Lent by receiving ashes on their forehead on Ash Wednesday, which is the first day of Lent. They also give up something they like a lot, such as desserts, or their phone.


  • The colors for Easter are white and gold, and they represent light, joy, triumph, and glory
  • On April 16th it is Easter Sunday, and that whole week until Easter Saturday, April 22nd, Easter is celebrated the whole week.
  • Easter is the 50 days celebrating the Lord's resurrection him sending forth of the Holy Spirit.
  • Catholics celebrate Easter by attending mass that Sunday with their family. Easter is one of the most important days for Catholics to attend mass.

Paschal Triduum

  • The color of the Triduum is red, and it represents passion, blood, fire, God's Love, and martyrdom.
  • The Paschal Triduum starts April 13th, and ends April 16th.
  • Holy Thursday is on April 13th
  • The Paschal Triduum is the holiest Three Days of the Church's year, where we recall the suffering, death, and resurrection of Jesus.
  • The Triduum is celebrated just by attending mass.


  • The color of Advent is purple, and it represents melancholy and joy.
  • The Immaculate Conception of the blessed Virgin Mary is on December 8th
  • Advent is the four weeks of us preparing before the celebration of the birth of Jesus
  • Advent is celebrated by us lighting a candle every week. The candles represent the light of God coming into the world through the birth of his son.

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.