College of Medicine Alumni Awards 2020

On August 6, 2020 the College of Medicine Alumni Award winners were honored in a virtual ceremony. We look forward to celebrating our award winners in person in August 2021.

Alumni Achievement Award

Donna A. Caniano, MD, '83 Res

Nominated by E. Christopher Ellison, MD, Res

For Donna A. Caniano, a career in academic pediatric surgery includes a legacy of mentorship at The Ohio State University College of Medicine, and contributions to graduate medical education and the field of pediatric surgery.

Leon McDougle, '89 MD

Nominated by Camilla Curren, '89 MD

Leon McDougle is the first African American professor with tenure in The Ohio State University College of Medicine Department of Family Medicine and the first chief diversity officer—what he calls the “the chief collaborating officer”—for The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center.

Early Career Achievement Award

Tammy L. Kindel, '05 MD, PhD

Nominated by Steven Kindel, '05 MD, Res

Tammy Kindel’s passion for the practice of bariatric and metabolic surgery early in her career has already made her a national leader in the field. An associate professor of surgery at the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee, Kindel is also director of the bariatric surgery program at Froedtert Hospital and the Medical College of Wisconsin.

Patrick White, '07 MD

Nominated by Elizabeth Blaney, '07 MD

Patrick White’s early career accomplishments include his role as chief medical officer for BJC Home Care and chief of the Division of Palliative Medicine at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, Missouri. He is the Stokes Family Endowed Chair in Palliative and Supportive Care, and one of the youngest endowed chairs both at his university and nationally in the field of palliative medicine. As an academic leader, he provides clinical oversight to over 650 physicians, nurse practitioners, therapists, nurses and supporting staff at 14 hospitals.

Alumni Service Award

Andrew Glassman, MD, '85 Res

Nominated by Sravya Vajapey, MD

Andrew Glassman is professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and chief of Adult Reconstructive Surgery at The Ohio State University College of Medicine. As chairman of The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center Department of Orthopaedics, he has instituted transformational initiatives, which include hiring diverse, accomplished faculty, mentoring trainees, and building a robust Adult Reconstruction service.

Community Alumni Award

Neal Birnbaum, '70 MD

Nominated by David Schuller, '70 MD

A native of East Liverpool, Ohio, Neal Birnbaum has a long history of leadership in medicine as a clinician, educator and patient advocate. Since 1977, he has practiced rheumatology in San Francisco, where he is managing partner of Pacific Rheumatology Associates. Chief of Rheumatology since 1983, he twice served as chief of staff at California Pacific Medical Center and is clinical professor of Medicine at the University of California, San Francisco.

Dale Svendsen, '67 MD, '71 MS, '71 Res

Nominated by Julie Niedermier, '95 MD

Dale Svendsen, professor of clinical psychiatry at The Ohio State University College of Medicine, has a distinguished career in public and community psychiatry. His appointment in The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Health over the past 11 years has focused on improving mental health care education for residents and medical students and improving health care for people with serious mental illnesses.

Faculty Teaching Award

Christopher Pierson, MD, PhD

Nominated by Michael Ioger, Current M2 Student

Christopher Pierson is known for his passion for teaching and wanting all students to achieve their full potential, a mission that guides his approach to teaching and mentorship. A neuropathologist at Nationwide Children’s Hospital, Pierson is Part One associate program director and co-director of the Foundations 1 and 2 blocks of The Ohio State University College of Medicine’s Lead.Serve.Inspire. curriculum. He also directs the core neuroanatomy course in the Anatomy graduate program.

Congratulations to our 2020 Award Winners!

Nominations are now open for the 2021 Awards cycle. Nominate a deserving alumnus today!

Created By
Jessie Crawford