Mexican-American War

Mexican American War, also called Mexican War the Spanish Guerra de 1847 or Guerra de Estados Unidos a Mexico. War between the United States and Mexico went on for two years from April 1846-February 1848. The war was in the United States in a big place of about more than 500,000 square miles of Mexican territory extending westward from the Rio Grande to the Pacific Ocean.

On April 25, 1846 the Mexican cavalry attacked a U.S. group and killed a dozen of people. They then laid siege to an American fort along the Rio Grande. And the help of superior rifles and artillery they were able to defeat the Mexicans at the battles of Palo Alto and Resaca De La Palma. On May 13 Congress declared war despite opposition for some northern lawmakers. No official declaration of war ever came from Mexico.

The Mexican American War lasted from 1846 to 1848, with the treaty concluding the war on February 2, 1848. There were 1,773 Americans killed and 4,152 injured. There were around 25,000 Mexican soldiers killed or injured.The result of the Mexican American War was the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo in 1848, which stated that Mexico had to give up land to the United States, including Texas. That land now makes up the states of California, Utah and Nevada, as well as parts of Colorado, Wyoming, New Mexico and Arizona. The treaty also established the national border of Mexico at the Rio Grande River.

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.