A Salute to Teachers Saturday, September 16, 2017 at the balboa theatre

No one in the nation recognizes teachers the way San Diego does, with a live Academy Awards-style telecast. Thanks to the partnership between the San Diego County Office of Education and Cox Communications, the 27th annual "A Salute to Teachers," brought to you by San Diego County Credit Union, was a stunning success. 44 nominees, representing some of the best and brightest of the more than 22,000 teachers in San Diego County, were recognized in front of friends, family, colleagues, and a live audience.

Poway Unified had three teachers representing the District: Mark Lantsberger, Del Norte High School; Susan Michelena, Rancho Bernardo High School; and Keith Opstad, Westview High School.

Keith, Susan, and Mark with last year's County, State and National Finalist for Teacher of the Year Megan Gross. The nominees attended a VIP reception, where they mingled with nominees and superintendents from neighboring school districts. PUSD Superintendent, Dr. Marian Kim-Phelps joined in the fun.

Veteran broadcasters Kyra Phillips and Dennis Morgigno served as the evening's emcees and talented student actors, singers, musicians, and dancers from across the county served as the evening's entertainment.

The hosts took a selfie before getting the show underway.
Island steel drum band from Southwest Middle/High School.
"Aptitude" Lakeside Middle School show choir.
"Sound Express" Carlsbad High School show choir.
#TeamPUSD was well-represented at the event.
Mark Lantsberger expressing his surprise, after being announced as one of the finalists, saying he was "flabbergasted."

In his acceptance speech, Mark talked about bringing more girls into the fields of computer science and coding.

The five San Diego County Teachers of the Year (l to r): Kathy Worley, Grossmont Union High School District; Ben Swearingen, South Bay Union School District; Jaime Brown, San Diego Unified School District; Camden Flores, La Mesa-Spring Valley School District; and Mark Lantsberger, Poway Unified School District
Hamming it up for the camera with the hosts and sponsors.
This year's winners getting some love from last year's County Teachers of the Year.
Group photo for #TeamPUSD (l to r): Board Vice President T.J. Zane, Karen O'Connor (retired, former County & State Teacher of the Year), Megan Gross (former County & State Teacher of the Year), Board Clerk Dr. Darshana Patel, Board President Michelle O'Connor-Ratcliff, Del Norte Principal Greg Mizel, Mark Lantsberger (County Teacher of the Year), Superintendent Dr. Marian Kim-Phelps, Paul Messerle (former County Teacher of the Year), Associate Superintendent James Jimenez
Proud Del Norte Principal Greg Mizel with Mark and Megan (back to back winners!) and Dr. Phelps.
Created By
Christine Paik

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.