Islam “What actions are most excellent? To gladden the heart of human beings, to feed the hungry, to help the afflicted, to lighten the sorrow of the sorrowful, and to remove the sufferings of the injured.” -Bukhari

Origin- Came about in 632 C.E. in Mecca, now known as Saudi Arabia. In 622 Muhammad fled north to the city of Medina this marks the beginning of the Islamic calendar. Eight years later he came back to Mecca with an army and conquered the city for Islam.Islam was developed off developed off Judaism and Christianity. Islam is know as the final and complete monotheistic religion. Islam accepts prophets from both Judaism and Christianity as well. Islam traditions say angel Gabriel appeared and revealed many messages of God. Jesus and Moses are messengers but only Muhammad is the last and greatest prophet. Muhammad was Islam's founder and main prophet. Muhammad was considered "the last prophet of God." Muhammad's revelations are pure and uncorrupted.

Sects of Religion- Islam sectors of religion have two main groups. The two groups are the Sunnis and Shiite. The split occurred after Muhammad's death in 632 C.E.. Sunnis mostly consists of people from Turkey, Pakistan, India, and Indonesia. Sunnis believe that a new leader should have been chosen by consensus. The Shiite, mostly from Iran, Iraq, and Brarain, believe that only the prophets descendants should become Caliph. Shiites value martydom and sacrifice. The Sunnis emphasize God's power in the world including public and political realms. 85% of Muslims are Sunnis. There are some other minor denominations of Islam like Ahmadiyya, Shi'a Islam, and Sufism. Admadiyya claimed the appearance of the messiah in Qudian, Punjab (c. 1839-1908). Shi'a Islam encompass most Muslims who are not counted among the Sunnis. Sufism have a mystical approach to Islamic faith. They seek to find the truth of divine love and knowledge through direct personal experience of God.

Major Beliefs of Islam- The holy book of Islam is the Quran. This stands for "recitation" in Arabic, referring to the book being created off of Christianity and Judaism. The holy book tells others to worship one God and one God only and to always treat others properly. Muslim's practice The 5 Pillars of Islam. Each day you are required to declare faith, you are required to pray 5 times a day at specific times, you fast during sunlight in the time of Ramadan, you share earnings with charity, and one time in your life you venture to a pilgrimage in Mecca. The place of worship for the Islamic faith is known as a Mosque. The Arabic word for Mosque is "Masjid," meaning "place of prostration." Mosques are used for gatherings, for prayer, to study, to celebrate festivals, and as community centers. The leader of services in the Mosque is known as a Iman.

Holidays/celebrations- Ramadan is a key celebration for Muslims. In the month of Ramadan you fast during the sunlight and can only eat when the sun is down. Ramadan ends eight the festival of Eid al-fitr, which translates into "festival of breaking fast." Another major celebration is the Eid al-Adha which means "Sacrifice Feast". The festival of Eid al-Adha is to remember Abraham and followings of Aliah when he sacrificed his son Ishamel. There are many large celebrations and all the holidays are a big deal. the holidays occur on dates in the Islamic (Hijri) calendar, which is lunar, and thus their dates in theGregorian calendar, which is solar, change each year.

Marina Zeglin and Grace PaneGasser


Created with images by goldbug - "abu dhabi mosque islam" • LoggaWiggler - "taj mahal mausoleum agra"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.