ELKO! Eve of Destruction 2019 SEASON OPENER - SATURDAY MAY 25, 2019

May 25, 2019 - Elko, MN

By Jason D Searcy

Now that our long Minnesota winter has finally subsided a huge Eve of Destruction crowd gathered for the opener of the 54th season of racing at Elko Speedway.

An impressive field of 21 cars entered the twin 30 lap feature events in the NASCAR Late Model division sponsored by The Car Lot of New Prague. In the first event #14 Devyn Stocker grabbed the lead and held the top spot the majority of the race until being challenged by #51Justin Neisius and racing side by side after the halfway flags were displayed. While Neisius and Stocker were racing each the #21 of Adam Bendzick joined the Melee for the top spot. On the last lap there was contact and a caution, all three drivers involved were sent to the back of the pack. Nick Murgic #12 from Rosemount (MN) was the beneficiary as he went from fourth place to become the new leader. On the restart Murgic held onto the lead and won by .348 seconds over #42 Ryan Kamish, #72 Jacob Goede was third, #19 Michael Haggar fourth and #6 Owin Giles fifth.

The second Late Model feature had #31 Ryan Varner lead many laps with #75 Joe Neisius on his tail. Bryan Wrolstad #13 then raced up and challenged Varner for the lead with seven laps remaining in the race. Five-time defending Champion #72 Jacob Goede worked his way through the pack and pounced on the leaders with three laps to go. He made an aggressive move to the inside in corner number three bringing the crowd to its feet, he passed both Varner and Wrolstad and took the lead with two laps to go. Goede then motored to the finish and held off Wrolstad by .482 seconds for the win. Varner crossed the line third but was disqualified during post race inspection. Joe Neisius was awarded third followed by fast qualifier #3 Chris Marek fourth and #6 Owin Giles fifth.

The Genz-Ryan Thunder Car division was swept by defending Champion #37 Bryce Blohm of Lakeville (MN). Steve Schultz #23 led the first few laps of the first 20 lap feature event until Blohm took over on lap four, Dusty Mann #10 got side by side and then passed Blohm on the high side for the lead. Mann crossed the finish line first but was disqualified in post race inspection giving Blohm the win, but just barely, Blohm edged fast qualifier #25 Eric Campbell by only .023 seconds at the finish. Dillon Sellner #07 was third followed by #3 Conrad Jorgenson and #23 Schultz.

The second Thunder Car feature had former ELKO Dirt Nationals Champion #56 Johnny Magnum lead many of the laps early, then #6 Rob Michaels, #14 Tony Holm and #23 Scott Schultz all swapped spots for the lead. Mid-pack contact slowed some of the typical feature winning drivers and that left Schultz and Holm to battle for the win during the last few laps with #37 Bryce Blohm charging up from his tenth place starting spot. Schultz crossed the finish line first but was disqualified during post-race inspection so the win was awarded to Bryce Blohm who this time edged Tony Holm by just .005 seconds at the line. Conrad Jorgenson #3 finished third, Johnny Magnum fourth and #07 Dillon Sellner was fifth.

The first Pepsi Power Stock 20 lap main event was won by #56 Paul Hamilton from Hastings (MN). Josh Gernentz #40 and #41 Ben Gannon swapped the top spot early and then Hamilton took over the top spot, Hamilton seemed like he was cruising for the win until fast qualifier #88 Nick Oxborough charged up from the back of the pack to challenge him for the win on the last lap. The two drivers had contact coming out of the final turn and Hamilton went spinning completely backwards across the finish line and just ahead of Oxborough by .098 seconds. Tom Doten #62 has returned after a year off and finished third, #27 Darin Patnode was fourth and defending Champion #8 Taylor Goldman finished fifth of the 12 cars entered.

The second Power Stock feature had #40 Josh Gernentz lead until #13 Matt Frye took over on lap five. Jason Michaud #41m from Otsego (MN) broke a suspension part during pre-race practice and didn’t even know if he would be able to compete at all on opening night. Luckily Michaud was able to acquire the parts and fix it just in time. Michaud grabbed the top spot after a restart on lap 8 and held on for the win by 1.668 seconds over #08 Michael Stoer, #62 Tom Doten finished third followed by #8 Taylor Goldman and #88 Nick Oxborough.

All results are unofficial until being posted mid-week on ElkoSpeedway.com

The Eve of Destruction crowd enjoyed watching the Spectator drags which was won by Carl Larson of Apple Valley (MN) driving a 2002 Chevy Corvette.

Fans at ELKO for the first time were able to choose the winner of two events during Eve of Destruction. Former Raceway Park figure 8 Champion Clark Shingledecker was the fans choice as winner of the School Bus Races and Tim Jones from St James (MO) driving his truck named Twisted Addiction got more mobile phone votes and was chosen as the winner of the Monster Truck Freestyle over Doug Nolke driving Tailgator.

Up Next at ELKO will be NASCAR Whelen All American series racing on Saturday night June 8th, Gates open at 5pm and action begins at 6pm. Elko Speedway is a ⅜ mile asphalt oval race track with stadium seating located 30 minutes South of the Twin Cities just off of I-35 in Elko/New Market Minnesota. Get more information at ElkoSpeedway.com, download the Elko Racing app or follow Elko Speedway on social media.

Created By
ELKO! Speedway

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a copyright violation, please follow the DMCA section in the Terms of Use.