Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore AN OVERVIEW

Founded in Milan in 1921 by Father Agostino Gemelli, Università Cattolica is Europe's largest private university. It is the only university in Italy with campuses all over the country: in Milan, Piacenza, Cremona, Brescia and Rome – with the Agostino Gemelli General Hospital. It’s an institution long recognised for its academic excellence, its commitment to charting the frontiers of research, its high standards of services and its openness to innovation and change. Università Cattolica is a seat of cultural development and offers an education focused on development of the person as a whole. Università Cattolica is a seat of cultural development and offers an education focused on development of the person as a whole. The thousands of graduates since the institution's foundation include eminent scholars, politicians, lawyers, educators, intellectuals, entrepreneurs, professionals, journalists, writers, publishers, and Church leaders.

A comprehensive University

A multidisciplinary approach

Università Cattolica is a comprehensive university, covering an impressive range of programs: from Medicine to Law, from Arts and Philosophy through to Economics, Accounting & Finance, Agriculture, Psychology and Linguistic Sciences.

In the renowned QS World University Rankings by Subject 2015, Cattolica’s ascendency placed the University in great company, with every discipline ranked in the top 200 worldwide.

Research activities

Research activities and projects are carried out within 10 scientific areas
  • Mathematical and computer sciences
  • Physical sciences
  • Biological sciences
  • Medical sciences
  • Agricultural and veterinarian sciences
  • Antiquities, philological and linguistic sciences, literary, historical and artistic sciences
  • Historical, philosophical, educational and psychological sciences
  • Legal sciences
  • Economics and statistics
  • Political and social sciences

Facts and figures

In numbers
  • 5 Campuses in Italy
  • 12 Faculties
  • 42 Undergraduate Degree Programmes
  • 48 Graduate Degree programmes
  • 6 Integrated Graduate Degree Programmes
  • Over 100 specialising Masters
  • 7 Graduate Schools
  • 27 Departments
  • 43 Institutes
  • 97 Research centres
  • About 40.000 enrolled students
  • 1.650 Professors
  • 600 Partner universities worldwide

Our campuses

  • Milan
  • Piacenza
  • Cremona
  • Brescia
  • Roma

A cosmopolitan, multicultural environment is set around the two main cloisters of the historic Saint Ambrose monastery designed by Bramante. The campus of Milano, one of the most prestigious architectural complexes in Milan, is located in what was a Cistercian monastery adjacent to the Basilica of Saint Ambrose. The two cloisters, with the adjoining, early 20th century facade designed by Giovanni Muzio, have become the symbol of the university.

The university grounds in the campus of Piacenza encompass the buildings used for education and research (lecture halls and lab facilities), together with the university chapel, a conference centre, the Sant'Isidoro College and the Gasparini Residence.

Università Cattolica in the campus of Cremona is situated in the Palazzo Ghisalberti, with an area of some 7,000 square metres housing two multimedia halls, a distance-learning hall, labs for practical assignments, and a library connected to the university network of the other campuses.

The Brescia campus is an educational community incorporating various fields of study in the heart of one of Lombardy's most dynamic and productive cities and is located in the historical Palazzo Martinengo Cesaresco dell' Aquilone.

The Rome campus opened in 1961 and is home to Università Cattolica's Faculty of Medicine and Surgery and the Agostino Gemelli General Hospital. The campus has created synergy between education, research and healthcare which is one of its great strengths: the university hospital is a centre of excellence giving students the opportunity to put into practice what they have learnt in the classroom.

Our Faculties

12 Faculties in 5 Campuses
  • Faculty of Mathematical, Physical and Natural Sciences
  • Faculty of Arts and Philosophy
  • Faculty of Psychology
  • Faculty of Banking, Finance and Insurance Sciences
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Linguistic Sciences and Foreign Literatures
  • Faculty of Political and Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Economics
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Economics and Law
  • Faculty of Agriculture, Food, and Environmental Sciences
  • "A. Gemelli" Faculty of Medicine and Surgery

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.