United Nations By: Dana Arcara

The United Nations was created to ensure that governments of major countries around the world would continue to actively fight against the axis powers in World War 2.

The League of Nations came before the United Nations. It was created to provide a forum for resolving international disputes.

The ultimate goal of the United Nations is maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights.

The United Nations Headquarters is located in New York City.

The main organs of the United Nations are the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council, the International Court of Justice, and the United Nations Secretariat.

The Security Council is an important division of the United Nations that contains five permanent members — the United States, Britain, China, France, Russia, and ten rotating members.

Countries that are part of the United Nations:

Afghanistan Bhutan Costa Rica Fiji

Albania Bolivia Côte d’Ivoire Finland

Algeria Bosnia and Herzegovina [2] Croatia [3] France

Andorra Botswana Cuba Gabon

Angola Brazil Cyprus Gambia

Antigua and Barbuda Brunei Darussalam Czech Republic [4] Georgia

Argentina Bulgaria Democratic People’s Republic of Korea Germany [7]

Armenia Burkina Faso Democratic Republic of the Congo [5] Ghana

Australia Burundi Denmark Greece

Austria Cambodia Djibouti Grenada

Azerbaijan Cameroon Dominica Guatemala

Bahamas Canada Dominican Republic Guinea

Bahrain Cape Verde Ecuador Guinea-Bissau

Bangladesh Central African Republic Egypt [6] Guyana

Barbados Chad El Salvador Haiti

Belarus [1] Chile Equatorial Guinea Honduras

Belgium China Eritrea Hungary

Belize Colombia Estonia Iceland

Benin Comoros Ethiopia India

Congo (Republic of the) Mozambique Philippines

Indonesia [8] Liechtenstein Myanmar Poland

Iran Lithuania Namibia Portugal

Iraq Luxembourg Nauru Qatar

Ireland Madagascar Nepal Republic of Korea

Israel Malawi Netherlands Republic of Moldova

Italy Malaysia [9] New Zealand Romania

Jamaica Maldives Nicaragua Russian Federation [11]

Japan Mali Niger Rwanda

Jordan Malta Nigeria Saint Kitts and Nevis

Kazakhstan Marshall Islands Norway Saint Lucia

Kenya Mauritania Oman Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Kiribati Mauritius Pakistan Samoa

Kuwait Mexico Palau San Marino

Kyrgyzstan Micronesia (Federated States of) Panama Sao Tome and Principe

Lao People’s Democratic Republic Monaco Papua New Guinea Saudi Arabia

Latvia Mongolia Paraguay Senegal

Lebanon Montenegro [10] Peru Serbia [12]

Lesotho Morocco Seychelles

Liberia Tonga Sierra Leone

Libya Trinidad and Tobago

Singapore Tunisia

Slovakia [13] Turkey

Slovenia [14] Turkmenistan

Solomon Islands Tuvalu

Somalia Uganda

South Africa Ukraine

South Sudan United Arab Emirates

Spain United Kingdom

Sri Lanka United of Republic of Tanzania[17]

Sudan United States

Suriname Uruguay

Swaziland Uzbekistan

Switzerland Vanuatu

Sweden Venezuela

Syria [15] Viet Nam

Tajikistan Yemen [18]

Thailand Zambia

The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia [16] Zimbabwe

Timor Leste


The top 5 countries in the United Nations are the permanent members and decide what happens in the world.

The types of problems consist of safeguarding peace, protecting human rights, establishing the framework for international justice and promoting economic and social progress, in the seven decades since its creation the United Nations has added on new challenges, such as climate change, refugees and AIDS.

First Committee (Disarmament and International Security Committee) is concerned with disarmament and related international security questions

Second Committee (Economic and Financial Committee) is concerned with economic questions

Third Committee (Social, Humanitarian and Cultural Committee) deals with social and humanitarian issues

Fourth Committee (Special Political and Decolonization Committee) deals with a variety of political subjects not dealt with by the First Committee, as well as with decolonization

Fifth Committee (Administrative and Budgetary Committee) deals with the administration and budget of the United Nations

Sixth Committee (Legal Committee) deals with international legal matters

Food aid has been the greatest achievement of the United Nations.

I think it should be kept, because it helps people in need and ends violence in the world.


Created with images by littlemisspurps - "United Nations building" • WikiImages - "fluzeugtraeger capsize bombing" • WikiImages - "air force lockheed pv 1" • Dimitry B - "Midtown skyline looking east, NYC" • ToGa Wanderings - "United Nations" • CDC Global Health - "Walking through Kakuma Refugee Camp" • obbino - "THE PEACE KEEPING"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.