Southwest Asia Religions Erin Crispo and Lea Gaetto

The three main religions in Southwest Asia are Christianity, Judaism, and Islam.

One of the main religions in Southwest Asia is called Christianity. Christianity first originated as an offshoot of Judaism in the first century C.E. The main prophet of Christianity is Jesus because he is the Messiah. Christianity and Islam are connected because they both believe in eternal life. Christianity and Judaism are similar because they both have commandments that they follow. The holy book of this religion is the Bible, and the worship place is the Church. The religious leader of Christianity is the Pope, which is Pope Francis. This religion has many branches such as, Lutheran, Catholic, Methodist, and few others. Some holidays Christians celebrate are Easter, which is the Resurrection of Jesus, and Christmas, which is the day the Messiah was born.

Jesus Christ; The Messiah

Another one of the main religions in Southwest Asia is called Judaism. It was founded in the eastern Mediterranean in the second millennium B.C.E. Abraham is the main prophet of this religion, and is considered to be the first Jew and person that made a covenant with God. Judaism is similar to Christianity because Christianity was based off of it. Their holy book is called the Torah and consists of the Jewish laws. Judaism followers worship in a synagogue and a religious leader is known as a rabbi. Some various sections are Orthodox, Reform, Conservative, and Kabbalist. Judaism celebrate/have holy days throughout the year. One day is called Pesach, which is known as Passover and occurs over March and April. Hanukkah (Feast of Dedication/Festival of Lights) takes place in December/early January. Lastly, another holiday is a Bar Mitzvah. Boys who turn thirteen celebrate their ability to worship in public and observe religious precepts.

Abraham; the founder of the Jews

The last of the three religions in Southwest Asia is called Islam. Islam is a combination of both Judaism and Christianity characteristics, and also, it has cultural values coming from the tribe in Arabia called Bedouin. It arose early on in the seventh century C.E. in the Mecca desert. The prophecy of Islam is Muhammad. They believe in one god, named Allah, who has no children, is no gender, and has no physical form. Muslims have laws known as the Five Pillars; orally declaring their faith, praying five times per day, fasting in the daylight hours of the month of Ramadan, giving share of their profits to charity, and traveling to the Mecca at least one time in their life. People of Islamic faith believe in the Quran, which can be read, recited, and or prayed. Islam’s worship place is called the Mosque. Islam has many different sections of religion such as . Some holidays Muslims celebrate are Eid ul Fitr and Eid ul Adha.

Muhammad; the prophet of Islam
Created By
leaerin crispogaetto

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.