The Central Nervous System: The system of the body that controls the activity of the body . The central nervous system consists of the Brain, and Spinal cord.

The peripheral nervous system: The peripheral nervous system detects stimuli and relays it to the CNS that will then conjure a reaction. The Pns consists of a series of nurons.

The Somatic Nervous system: The SoNS deals with reflexes and skeletal muscle.

Autonomic Nervous System: manages the functions of the body that are involuntary. It has 2 sections Parasympathetic and sympathetic which both control different functions.

Sensory neuron: They are what detect outside stimuli and convert them into electronic impulses.

Interneurons are neurons that transmits the impulses from the sensory neurons.

Motor neurons send the impulses through muscle glands from the CNS.

Neuromuscular junctions are the points of contact between motor neurons and muscle tissue.

Acetylcholine is a chemical in the brain that functions as a neurotransmitter.

Epinephrine and norepinephrine are released by the adrenal medulla and nervous system respectively. They are the flight/fight hormones that are released when the body is under extreme stress. During stress, much of the body's energy is used to combat imminent danger.

A synapse is a junction between two nerve cells, consisting of a minute gap across which impulses pass by diffusion of a neurotransmitter.

White matter is composed of bundles of myelinated nerve cell projections (or axons), which connect various gray matter areas (the locations of nerve cell bodies) of the brain to each other, and carry nerve impulses between neurons

Grey matter (or gray matter) is a major component of the central nervous system, consisting of neuronal cell bodies, neuropil (dendrites and myelinated as well as unmyelinated axons), glial cells (astroglia and oligodendrocytes), synapses, and capillaries.

The Cerebrum: The cerebrum or cortex is the largest part of the human brain, associated with higher brain function such as thought and action. The cerebral cortex is divided into four sections, called "lobes": the frontal lobe, parietal lobe, occipital lobe, and temporal lobe.

The primary structures within the limbic system include the amygdala, hippocampus, thalamus, hypothalamus, basal ganglia, and cingulate gyrus. The amygdala is the emotion center of the brain, while the hippocampus plays an essential role in the formation of new memories about past experiences.


Created with images by Double--M - "From the Brockhaus and Efron Encyclopedic Dictionary" • NICHD NIH - "Metastatic paraganglioma"

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.