Interfaith Dialogue By Japneet Kaur

Similarities in Religious Diversity
New Zealand 2013 Census

The Nostra Aetate meaning in our time. The document contains Catholic teachings on the relationship between believers and non-believers. It came into being as some believed certain teachings of the Church led to the promotion of antisemitism and that something was required to counteract this sentiment. During the making of the document, the focus spread to include relationships with Muslims and other religious groups and was no longer limited to relationship with Jews. The final document was approved by the Council Fathers with a majority of 2 221 to 88.

Nostra Aetate

There are 5 main sections to the Nostra Aetate: the first being a statement of unity among humans; it refers to the shared history, shared future and common questions among the religions. The second section makes reference to Hinduism and Buddhism while describing religion and according to the document linked above, "the Catholic Church rejects nothing of what is true and holy in these religions." The third section focuses on Islam and proposes an end to previous religious wars between the two religions and a relationship based on cooperation. The fourth section speaks of the relationship between Christians and Jews and speaks against antisemitism. The final section says that God is the Father of all humanity and therefore all humans are brothers and sisters. This sections states that Christians should not discriminate against non-Christians.

It is now our duty to talk and interact with those of other faiths, learn about other religions and to treat each person with common courtesy and respect.

Pope Francis' Many Examples of Interfaith Dialogue
The Golden Rule

Christianity: Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

Hinduism: This is the sum of duty: do naught to others that which if done to thee would cause pain.

Islam: No one of you is a believer until he desires for his brother what he desires for himself.

Judaism: What is hateful to you, do not do to your fellow man. That is the entire Law; all the rest is commentary.

Confucianism: Do not do to others what you do not want them to do to you.

Baha'i Faith: Choose thou for thy neighbour that which thou choosest for thyself.

Taoism: Regard your neighbour's gain as your own gain, and your neighbour's loss as your own loss.

Sikhism: I am a stranger to no one; and no one is a stranger to me. Indeed, I am a friend to all.

Jainism: One should treat all creatures in the world as one would like to be treated.

Zoroastrianism: That nature only is good when it shall not do unto another whatever is not good for it's own self.

Unitarianism: We affirm and promote respect for the interdependent web of all existence of which we are a part.

Native Spirituality: We are as much alive as we keep the earth alive.

Peace, Harmony, Religious Tolerance, they are the one and the same, they all begin with respect for one another and one another's choices. Peace is knowing that you are safe. It is when you know that those around you, in society, respect your life, existence, identity and sense of safety. Peace is when you can trust those around you to stand by you and not against you. Harmony is knowing that you are among friends. It is when you respect those around you and take the step towards friendship and solidarity. Harmony is when we recognise that from our differences stem our similarities. Religious tolerance is knowing that you have a choice. It is when every man and woman knows that they can choose their own way of life and that they will be respected for that choice. It is when we have the freedom to make a choice and be confident that we shall not be persecuted or opposed against for that choice. Religious Tolerance is when we respect one another's freedom and choices.

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.