Industrial Certifications A Presentation by Amatrol

Through its partners, Amatrol offers three different types of industrial training certifications:

Whether establishing basic competencies for an entry-level job or a specific career path such as a CNC Machine Operator, national standards establish the core competencies that can be used as a comparative benchmark, and offer both entry-level and incumbent workers the opportunity to demonstrate that they have acquired the necessary skills for the technologically intensive jobs of the 21st century.

Why Choose Certifications?

Times They Are a-Changin'

Right now, manufacturers are struggling to find workers with the right skills for today's technology-driven workplace.

According to the NAM Skills Gap Report, a majority of respondents identified a shortage of qualified skilled production employees including machinists, operators, and technicians. No longer is there room in manufacturing for unskilled workers. A skilled workforce is vital to the success of any manufacturer competing in this global economy.

As time goes on, employers will be relying more upon Machines, leaving Humans to focus on technologies to improve the machines’ efficiency.

Understanding the Skills Gap

A push toward the changing workforce is due to a Skills Gap that is crippling parts of the industrial sector. While prospects are still applying for jobs, employers have noticed a trend of workers simply not being qualified for their applied position, aka a Skills Gap.

According to the Job Openings and Labor Turnover Survey (JOLTS), manufacturers filled 284,000 jobs in 2018, capping off its best calendar year since 1997. However despite the impressive figure, an estimated 522,000 were left unfilled due to employers not being able to find qualified workers.

Unfortunately, that trend is expected to continue. According to Deloitte, over the next decade, almost 4.6 million manufacturing jobs will need to be filled. However, because of the skills gap, as many as 2.4 million – more than half! – of those jobs could go unfilled. A survey of manufactures revealed that 73-percent of manufacturers identify the Skills Gap as their top concern about the future. It could also have a potential $2.5 trillion economic impact because of the openings.

Industry's Ideal Employee

“Deciding who will make it in the world of manufacturing will rely heavily on one factor: skills employees possess. Prior to the Fourth Industrial Revolution, seasoned manufacturing employees typically focused on one task, rarely being called upon for training in a different field than what they were accustomed to. Now, older generations are being asked to learn new, developing skills just to keep up.”

Source: Amatrol.com, Looking Ahead to Manufacturing Trends in 2019

MSSC's Certified Production Technician (CPT)

The Manufacturing Skill Standards Council’s (MSSC) CPT Program provides training and credentialing in the foundational areas of safety, quality, manufacturing processes and maintenance.

Recognized by the National Association of Manufacturers (NAM) as the foundation of its National Skills Certification System, CPT addresses both foundational technical skills and cross-functional skills.

Certified Production Technician Plus (CPT+)

Amatrol’s Skill Boss (95-MSB1) offers organizations performance-based assessment for evaluating the skill levels and competencies of future machine operators. Skill Boss was designed to assess the hands-on skills needed by today’s modern manufacturing production areas including assembly & machine operation.

This system is used by the Manufacturing Skill Standards Council (MSSC) for its Certified Production Technician (CPT) Plus certification. The Skill Boss assessment system, which evaluate over 60 essential manufacturing skills and is designed to meet MSSC standards, is a hands-on skill assessment system that integrates seamlessly into any manufacturing program.

MSSC’s CPT Plus program provides proof of an individual’s ability to perform a wide range of hands-on technical skills in electronic, electrical, fluid power, & mechanical systems.

NIMS' Industrial Technology Maintenance

The National Institute for Metalworking Skills’ (NIMS) Industrial Technology Maintenance program was created to fill the growing number of unfilled jobs in industrial maintenance with individuals having proven skill sets.

The ITM certification features nine stackable certifications, so learners can attain certificates in any of the 9 Duty Areas, such as Maintenance Operations, and use it to find a job. They can then complete any or all of the other eight certifications.

CNC Operator Certification Program

Finding qualified CNC machine operators is a challenge for any manufacturing organization. How do you know someone can do the job? Delivering consistent product quality when multiple people are involved, often in different locations, is also a big challenge. Experience in operating a CNC does not equate to consistent skills or approaches, which often shows up in higher warranty and repair costs. When combined with the often larger issue of just not enough CNC machine operators to fill open jobs, business suffers.

NIMS has developed two CNC machine operator certifications: one for the CNC mill and one for the CNC lathe, that provide proof of an individual’s ability to perform the job. NIMS credentials are portable recommendations that a person can perform the work of a CNC Machine Operator according to recognized national standards that have been industry validated.

Smart Automation Certification Alliance (SACA)

The Smart Automation Certification Alliance (SACA) offers certifications in three industry-driven categories: Associate, Specialist and Professional. Certifications are occupationally focused so they prepare learners for specific Industry 4.0 jobs.

SACA’s Smart Automation certifications use a modular structure to enable them to fit a wide range of individual needs, industries, and educational environments. Each certification is stackable, allowing individuals to start with one certification and add others to customize skills.

SACA’s Smart Automation certifications use a modular structure to enable them to fit a wide range of individual needs, industries, and educational environments.

Associate level certifications are for operators and fully prepares them for that occupation or can be used as an enhancement to incumbent IT, maintenance technicians, and others.

Specialist certifications certify Industry 4.0 technical skills in troubleshooting, programming, maintaining, and integrating systems.

The Industry 4.0 Professional Certification is an engineering level certification that focuses on design and optimization of Industry 4.0 systems.

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a copyright violation, please follow the DMCA section in the Terms of Use.