Loading

7th Grade Peek of the Week January 27-31, 2020

We spent some time this week reviewing expectations with our 7th graders, specifically cell phones and headphones. We would like cell phones/headphones put up in their book bags during instruction & not visible in the hallways, as Mrs. Raeburn has been reviewing on the announcements since the beginning of the school year. Please let us know if you have any questions or concerns about these expectations!

#CelebrateMonday 1/27
  • Baseball Tryouts 3:35-5:45
  • Please donate mini multi-colored marshmallows & Red Twizzlers for Life Science Project
#TurnUpTuesday 1/28
  • Baseball Tryouts 3:35-5:45
  • Aldred Life Science - Summative Assessment (Study Guide is in Google Classroom)
  • Narrative writing due for Read 180 students
  • Tutoring 3:35-4:30
#WinWednesday 1/29
  • Baseball Tryouts 3:35-5:45
  • Model DNA in Science with Student Purchased Candy
#ThankfulThursday 1/30
  • Baseball Tryouts 3:35-5:45
  • Model DNA in Science with Student Purchased Candy
#FocusFriday 1/31
  • Club Day!

We Won! Congratulations to the boys basketball team for being the 2019-2020 Southeast Georgia Region Champions! Bringing that hardware back to Pembroke! Congratulations to our boys basketball team for winning it all! ELITE•ELITE•ELITE•ELITE•ELITE• ❤️🏀#BeBCMS

🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆

Parents, below you will find information about tryouts for Baseball, Soccer, Track, and Golf. Also check out the information about our new online physical system. If your scholar is planning to try out for Spring Sports, now is a great time to get that physical done.

Content Info For The Week

  • ELA (Gordon):This week we will continue to read “The Giver”. As a class we made a goal to finish the book in four weeks and I’m thrilled to say we are on track to achieve that goal. The majority of our grades this 9 weeks will be coming from USA test prep. Students can access this from home. As always contact me with questions and concerns.
  • Read 180 (Hester & Miller): How do scientists meet the urgent need to contain killer diseases? Students will begin looking at a model narrative to see how figurative language and sensory language is used to grab readers' attention. In addition, students will begin using the POW strategy (Plan, Organize, Write) in order to compose a narrative. Students should complete their narratives by Tuesday, February 4th.
  • Math (Allmond, Fulton, Lothridge): This week, students will move on a little bit from angles and will begin learning about circles on Monday and Tuesday. By Wednesday and Thursday students will review and build on their 6th grade knowledge of composite figures and nets. By Friday, students will begin learning about surface area. Formative assessments are given almost daily, so it is important that students are always doing their work.
  • Science (Aldred & Tedder): Scholars will continue to learn about Genetics. Monday and Tuesday is filled with reviewing and learning more about DNA. Then, we ask that students purchase and bring in materials for this week’s Elite activity: Twizzlers and colored mini-multi colored marshmallows are a must, so that we can model DNA. You can review the activity using link below. https://teach.genetics.utah.edu/content/dna/HaveYourDNAandEatItToo.pdf Thank you for supporting our scholar’s growth. Finally on Friday, we find out just how unique all our genes are with a fingerprinting activity.
  • Social Studies (Lewis & Waddell): This week will be spent examining a number of different aspects regarding SE Asia history. Monday we will finish up watching the movie "Gandhi" and review the lasting impact of nonviolent protest. Tuesday thru Thursday, students will learn about Mao Zedong, the brutal dictator of China, and the events of the Great Leap Forward, Cultural Revolution, and Tienanmen Square. We will finish the week on Friday discussing Pearl Harbor and the US's response via the bombing of Nagasaki and Hiroshima.

Look what we have been up to!

Students had to wrap up our Meiosis Activity today modeling Crossing Over of DNA in Chromosomes. Genetic diversity is complex, but all we needed was a ruler, scissors, paper and some critical thinkers. #genetics #meiosis #chromosomes
We had a fantastic week cheering on our boys basketball team to their championship game on Saturday!

March Grade Level Field Trip to Atlanta

2019-2020 7th Grade Trip

Date: Friday, March 27th

Trip #13401

$165-Paid in Full by: March 1st

*Offered via Kelly Tours*

https://kellytours.com/

**Behavior Requirements Apply**

7th Grade Team Contact Info!

Teachers pictured from left to right:

Anna Waddell-Social Studies-awaddell@bryan.k12.ga.us

Drew Fulton-Math-dfulton@bryan.k12.ga.us

Lindsey Lothridge-Math-llothridge@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anna Lewis-Social Studies-alewis@bryan.k12.ga.us

John Allmond-ESS Math-jallmond@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bethany Gordon-ELA-bgordon@bryan.k12.ga.us

Melissa Tedder-Science-mtedder@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bobi Hester-ESS Read 180-bhester@bryan.k12.ga.us

Brandi Miller-Read 180-brandi.miller@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anne Marie Aldred-Science-aaldred@bryan.k12.ga.us

BCMS Administration Team!

Liz Raeburn-Principal-eraeburn@bryan.k12.ga.us

Abram Scott-Assistant Principal-ascott@bryan.k12.ga.us

Blaine Ennis-Assistant Principal/Athletic Director-bennis@bryan.k12.ga.us