The Basic Teachings of Buddhism Brend0n, logan, sachin

Buddha (Gotama Siddhartha)

Buddhi means "to awaken", but instead of a religion, Buddhism is a philosophy of life. It strives to lead a moral life, to be cautious of thoughts and actions, and to receive wisdom and understanding. Founded by Gotama Siddhartha, Buddhism is a belief path on the run. Along with its basic beliefs, Buddhism's top achievements are the noble eight fold path and the four noble truths.

From the elder to the younger

So, exactly what are the basic beliefs of Buddhism? Like all other religions or philosophies, Buddhism has its basic manners or good personality traits. However, one of the primary beliefs is a life that will end suffering. Buddhism emphasizes that when people try to hold onto others, material things, or money, they end up suffering because these things do not last.

The purpose of the eight fold path is to achieve 'spiritual enlightenment'. The eight fold path consists of eight steps that every Buddhist is required to follow to achieve the highest spiritual point and be reincarnated.

1. The first step is to understand nature and what happens in life, which is reality.

2. The second step is to act right from the heart, with proper attitude and always do all things with compassion.

Essentially displaying proper language

3. The third step is to speak with proper language and avoid cursing.

Arguing with one another

4. The fourth step is to always cover others and their mistakes and do not expose for attention.

Agreeing with others

5. The fifth step is to always look at a positive angle and agree with others, but if required to step against, to do so.

The concept of multitasking

6. The sixth step is to always put forth best in anything, that reflects of good behavior.

Be careful of what you do

7. The seventh step is to always be cautious of your actions and thoughts, if they are clean and not against what you believe in.

The last step is like school and to apply what you learn

8. The eighth and final step of the eight fold path is to absorb what is right, and to take in what you have been taught, both from Buddhism and the daily life lessons that you learn. Most importantly, always remember to thank who taught you and to hold onto the lesson for the rest of your life.

The Four Noble Truths

The purpose of the four noble truths is to help realize the concept and reasoning behind meditation for Buddhism.

Things you will encounter in life

1. The first truth of the four noble truths is the truth of understanding pain and suffering. Everything in life will not appear easy and will require work. Others in life will also try to bring down your spiritual strength.

The struggle to win an arm wrestling match.

2. The second truth of the four noble truths is the truth of suffering, but more specifically is where the suffering came from. If one does not know where the suffering came from, the individual may not know how to get rid of the suffering or overcome it.

The time it takes to end suffering.

3. The third truth of the four noble truths is the truth to know how to end the suffering. If one does not know how to end the suffering, that individual may have to deal with the suffering for a long time.

The path to end suffering

4. The fourth truth of the four noble truths is the truth to know the path or the steps to take in order to end the suffering. If one does not know what to do, where to go, who to talk to, etcetera, the suffering the individual is going through might have to go through more and lose to it.


Created with images by Akuppa - "Buddha" • sasint - "ancient architecture asia" • saamiblog - "Read the text. A symbol of the eight fold path "Arya Magga" (the noble path of the dhamma) in early Buddhism. An intricate representation of the Dharmachakra, or Buddhist eight spoked Wheel. Dhamma or Dharma" • esiul - "insect nature live" • rightee - "Love" • stevendepolo - "I'm Smart Kent County Girls on the Run April 06, 20101" • ttarasiuk - "100_1096" • ibm4381 - "Meeting" • darkmares - "Multitasking" • falco - "cheque guarantee card credit card credit cards" • US Department of Education - "SAD_Hortons_Kids 114" • Wonderlane - "Happy Martin Luther King Day: Holding a Jewel of meditation looking into one's own mind, Buddha statue in the lotus mudra, snow, Broadview, Seattle, Washington, USA, Saha Planet Earth, "Tolerable" (Sanskrit Saha, "Tolerable" as in "barely tolerable")" • PracticalCures - "Back Pain" • skeeze - "arm wrestling competition women" • moonlightbulb - "Cary clock" • markusspiske - "globe africa europe"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.