Liturgical Calendar brenden Ennis


Color: Purple - Represents renewal or a new start (beginning of Liturgical calendar)

Advent is a time of preparation for the coming of Jesus

The Church celebrates Advent by lighting an Advent Wreath every week throughout the season with 3 purple candles and 1 pink symbolizing Hope, Love, Peace, and Joy.

Starts: December 3

Ends: December 24

Holy Days: Feast of St. Nicholas (Dec. 6); Feast of Our Lady of Guadalupe (Dec. 12); Feast of St. Lucy (Dec. 13)


Color: White - Represents purity

Christmas is a time of celebration of the coming of Christ

We celebrate by going to Christmas mass and setting up decorations such as the manager scene to separate the birth of our Savior.

Starts: December 25 Ends: January 9

Holy Days: Christmas Day (Feast of the Incarnation, Dec. 25); Feast of the Baptism of the Lord (Jan. 9)

Ordinary Time

Color: Green - Represents hope and the Holy Spirit (There are 2 Ordinary times. The second comes between Easter and Advent)

Ordinary Time is the time in between the celebrations of Christmas and Lent. It is a time of watchfulness for the Second Coming of Christ

The Church celebrates this by having the priests wear green garments.

Starts: January 10 Ends: February 28

Holy Days: Feast of the Presentation of the Lord (Feb. 2); Feast of the Chair of St. Peter (Feb. 22)


Color: Purple - Represents penance an humility

Lent is a time when the Church looks forward to the Passion, Death, Resurrection, and Glorious Ascension of Jesus. It lasts 40 days for the 40 days Jesus spent in the desert.

To celebrate lent people give up something for the duration as a form of fasting and observe abstinence by not eating meat on Fridays.

Starts: March 1 Ends: April 13

Holy Days: Solemnity of Joseph, Spouse of the Blessed Virgin Mary (March 20); Solemnity of the Annunciation of the Lord (March 25)


Color: White - Represents innocence and light

Celebrates the unity of the Paschal Mystery

To celebrate priests wear white garments and we go to mass on the Holy Days

Starts: April 13 Ends: April 16

Holy Days: Holy Thursday (April 13); Good Friday (April 14); Easter Vigil (April 15)


Color: White - Represents joy and glory

Celebrates the Resurrection of Jesus

We go to mass Easter Sunday and the priests wear white garments

Starts: April 16 (Easter Sunday) Ends: June 4 (Pentecost)

Holy Days: Feast of St. Mark (April 25); Feast of St. Philip and St. James (May 3)


Created with images by Skitterphoto - "church altar mass" • Bessi - "flower purple lical" • kachi - "winter landscape snow" • jeonsango - "leaf nature green" • stephanie_in_love - "purple rain" • Pezibear - "gerbera flower blossom" • Trostle - "White Flower"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.